• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Amarillo (ARCS) P1 or P2?

PJH

Global Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2002
Messages
3,466
#1
I see its listed as a P2 system, but the talkgroup tags shows P1..

Just curious what is actually being operated at this time there..
 

rattlerbb01

TX/LA Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,244
Location
Boerne, Texas
#2
Someone submitted that it was identified as P2 system back in July and I changed it at that time after a PM conversation. It was in testing and rollout phase at that time, it may be worth another look for someone with control channel monitoring software in the area.
 

PJH

Global Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2002
Messages
3,466
#3
Ill be down there for work in a couple of weeks, so if close enough I’ll verify.

I’ll have some other stuff I’ll PM you later with that needs to be adjusted in the panhandle.
 

Russell

Texas DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
1,491
Location
Dallas (and Austin) Texas
#5
Most of the new Texas systems I've seen, except Harris, are set up as P2 systems - with the control channel advertising P2. In almost every case, though, the subscriber units lag behind, sometimes way behind. Obviously, until every active radio on that talk group is P2 then the talkgroup remains P1. As you know, RR categorizes the system based on the control channel advertisement.

Russell
 

PJH

Global Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2002
Messages
3,466
#6
With current system releases, it will “show it” but doesn’t mean it will be a P2 system. You can program a radio all day long with the P2 option checked, but if the system itself doesn’t have it enabled, it’s going to work as P1.

Motorola and Harris subscribers simply have a check box in the trunking setup that says “Phase 2 capable system”, but talkgroups are not defined (at the radio level) as P1 or P2.

It’s an infrastrure deal.
 

rattlerbb01

TX/LA Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,244
Location
Boerne, Texas
#8
Check your PM/conversations for the updates I sent you. ALso I have one hanging out in the queue..
I worked through a few older ones last night but I am on a spring break vacation with the wife and kids so I have limited time. I’ll get to them all soon.
 
Top