Amateur Kick-starting Guide

Status
Not open for further replies.

PKnight56

Premium Subscriber
Hello Everyone, I live in Wake County, and I'm pretty new at this whole radio thing. Im an aspiring junior firefighter, and Ive been wanting to listen to wake fire frequencies for a while, but Ive run into a snag. On my current analog scanner (Whistler WS1010) I am unable to listen to some frequencies because of the whole trunking over 800mhz. One dispatch channel is Simulcasted onto a lower frequency, but I dont receive any other dispatch or fireground frequencies. Im here seeking a few tips/tricks to listen to these frequencies over 800mhz (as in, a new scanner to get and how to operate it on the certain talkgroups). If anyone minds helping I'd appreciate it! Ill also give any more info if you need it. Thanks again!

N8IAA

Hello Everyone, I live in Wake County, and I'm pretty new at this whole radio thing. Im an aspiring junior firefighter, and Ive been wanting to listen to wake fire frequencies for a while, but Ive run into a snag. On my current analog scanner (Whistler WS1010) I am unable to listen to some frequencies because of the whole trunking over 800mhz. One dispatch channel is Simulcasted onto a lower frequency, but I dont receive any other dispatch or fireground frequencies. Im here seeking a few tips/tricks to listen to these frequencies over 800mhz (as in, a new scanner to get and how to operate it on the certain talkgroups). If anyone minds helping I'd appreciate it! Ill also give any more info if you need it. Thanks again!

You'll be needing a basic Phase I digital scanner to receive the Wake county system.
I would suggest the Whistler WS1040 handheld, or the base/mobile WS1065. They will be able to decode the Motorola Type II system the county is on. I also suggest purchasing Win500 to program the scanner. Makes it a bunch easier to get it up and running.

Larry

PKnight56

Premium Subscriber
Programming