Amplifier question - Is it actually helping?

andy404ns

I'm looking for some help in understanding what an amplifier is doing. Here is my situation:

Years ago when I did first moved into my house I had an antenna mounted in the attic. From there I had RG-6 running down the exterior of the house, in to the basement, and then I connected it into the existing cable lines so I could plug my Electroline splitter into the coax jack in my upstairs office. Not ideal for many reasons. This was probably 250-300 feet of RG-6 with numerous connectors.

Well, in the basement, I ran the RG-6 into an amplifier that I think the Comcast guys had left at the house. It's a Channel Master 3044 (I'll try to attach a picture of it). I have no real knowledge of amplifiers but it was there and it was F-connectors so yeah... I used it. And I got decent reception.

The good news is I've reworked everything as of a week ago. The attic antenna now drops through the wall for a grand total of 25 feet and it's now LMR-400 (a bit overkill I guess). But here's the not fun thing. When I did all that, the reception was pretty much the same, maybe even slightly worse on some channels. I figured I would have seen a big improvement. I got to thinking and wondered if the amplifier really did that much. So to test I added it back into the system. It's now sitting right off the antenna prior to the 25 foot LMR run. So I now have antenna --> RG-6 --> amplifier --> LMR (with adapters along the way). And my reception is much better. And that's across the spectrum.