An email to the head of PSP

Status
Not open for further replies.

WB3DYE

Silent Key
As we know PSP has been encrypted for years---Here is a letter I emailed to the head of PSP.

Dear Colonel Evanchick:

I am an amateur radio operator, retired, and have an extensive knowledge of public safety radio systems.. As you know PSP is abandoning the 800 MHz system and building a new system in the VHF range of frequencies.

I would like to make a case that would have PSP drop the encryption on initial dispatches. Why am I making that request? I am convinced if some PSP transmissions "were in the clear" we would not be in the situation we're in today. An 800 MHz system that didn't work properly, 800 million dollars in cost overruns and most importantly the safety of Troopers.. For example, I as one who tunes the public safety bands would have picked up Troopers frustrations with the 800 MHz system if encryption wasn't used. That would open the door for me putting together an investigative report. That would trigger lawmakers to stop the overspending on a system that endangers the lives of Troopers. Major Diane Stackhouse explained:
Statewide radio a nearly billion-dollar boondoggle .

Don't get me wrong. I believe that SWAT operations, drug stings and other sensitive communications SHOULD be encrypted, but routine day to day dispatches should be should be sent "in the clear"

I have found that most scanner listeners are law abiding citizens and they simply what to know whats going on in their neighborhoods. Encryption takes that away. In fact listeners have helped law enforcement, saved lives and assisted to track down criminals.

KSL cameraman goes to the rescue

Police arrest suspect in W-B bank robbery.

Quick thinking tow truck driver helps catch a murderer

In fact here is a report about a major fire department getting rid of encryption. Please make special note of the 10th paragraph.

OCFA Chief orders decryption of firefighter radios