An Encouragement for Highly Experienced & Well Seasoned Operators

As the username indicates, I'm relatively new to amateur radio, about 8 months now. As I was exploring and considering this hobby, one quality that really stood out to me was the concept of Elmers as mentors to those new to the hobby. I looked forward to that relationship and the growth in amateur radio it would provide. I met some members in a club in a "sorta" nearby town (40 miles). There were several of the members who were ready, willing and actually anxious to help me. But, I chose to join a club in my area. There are some very accomplished operators in this club and several are involved in ARES and ARRL, quite a collection of experience and knowledge. But I've struggled to grow & learn in this club. It seems to me that those members who have such vast experience are not really interested in helping a new guy like me. I ask questions, but I am given short or cryptic answers. I've made it clear that I could use some coaching, but nothing. The best I get from them is correction when I say something incorrect. In fact, today they just laughed at something I said about antennas. In all fairness, there is one operator who has been helpful, but his career (corporate exec) is very consuming, and he simply doesn't have time to do more with me. He probably would if I asked, but his available time is so limited, I dare not ask. I've been discouraged for a while now, and I'm not sure where I'll go from here. I read a lot, but sometimes I just need help. In short, I'm discouraged, and even though it requires a 45-50 minute drive, I'm considering moving to the other club.