Analog to digital?

Status
Not open for further replies.

n0xvz

Premium Subscriber
First, sorry if this has already been covered, but I couldn't find it if it was.

I'm a total novice when it comes to digital modes. I do understand that a hotspot is sometimes necessary too. I was talking to so.e today and I thought I heard them say they had a hotspot that was analog receive and digital output. Is that a thing? Would be great, but sounds too good to be true.

pewpew45

Check out ClearNode. It has an analog input and translates that to most of the digital modes for output… I can use mine to TX on p25, dmr, nxdn, fusion All while transmitting from my portable on analog to the node

n0xvz

Premium Subscriber
Check out ClearNode. It has an analog input and translates that to most of the digital modes for output… I can use mine to TX on p25, dmr, nxdn, fusion All while transmitting from my portable on analog to the node

Ah, yes! I do remember my contact mentioning something about "clear" something or other. I think that might have been it. Thanks!

sallen07

Premium Subscriber
Allstar nodes are analog

And your point is?

A ClearNode will do Allstar, EchoLink, DMR, P25, YSF, and NXDN. So if you are saying that a ClearNode is analog only, you are incorrect. Yes, you use an analog HT to talk to it, but it will do all those digital modes on the Internet side. A ClearNode is not just an Allstar node.

n0xvz

Premium Subscriber
Thank you, I have the information I was trying to find. Now I have a starting point for my search.

BMDaug

I am licensed…
Premium Subscriber
And your point is?

A ClearNode will do Allstar, EchoLink, DMR, P25, YSF, and NXDN. So if you are saying that a ClearNode is analog only, you are incorrect. Yes, you use an analog HT to talk to it, but it will do all those digital modes on the Internet side. A ClearNode is not just an Allstar node.