Antenna advice for my first HF rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

fullpwr5675

Premium Subscriber
Ham newbie here with a previous background in rf,well my first HF rig is on its way, a old Icom IC-735 and if it arrives in one piece and the seller didn't sell me a hunk of problems I can't wait to use it (I of course realize I can't do much but cw on a couple of bands with my tech class,which cw I am still learning)but can't wait to listen and learn,here is my dilemma I live on the 4th floor of an apartment builing (with 1 floor above,I have a 10 ft wide balcony facing north and a thin row of trees that are about 10 ft above my level 75 ft away and high tension lines running east to west 800 ft away,I realize this is a horrible situation for any band ,I get pretty good distance with my vhf and uhf of course east to west and north with my existing radios/scanners antennas but of course the south is hampered by the builiding being behind it,I know those low frequencies like to bounce but maybe they will bounce a bit in my favor,I obviosly can't run a 100ft dipole and no I can't move anytime soon,aside from taking it mobile and hanging a antenna,any suggestions for pulling in as much as I can?

thanks

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Option 1. Put up a ten meter dipole. Cheap, easy, and 10 meters is a great band for beginners. You have SSB privileges on part of the band, and there's a TON of activity. I know a number of technician class hams that are perfectly happy working nothing but 10 meter SSB.

Option 2. Put up whatever you can in the way of an open wire fed dipole, and use an antenna tuner. Autotuners can work pretty well. A balanced antenna reduces the requirement for a really good earth ground. Depending on it's length, you may find that it works just fine on multiple bands. A 10 meter-sized dipole could easily load up on 15 meters, and maybe even 40 meters with the right tuner, and lucky guesses with the length of the dipole.