Antenna for BCD436HP for Southern California

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gildor

I am new to the scanner hobby and have a BCD436HP on order. I understand that a third party antenna would enhance the signal I receive. I live south of LAX near the coast and not too far from the Port of LA. So, with the possibility of all kinds different activity to listen to, I was wondering what the folks here in LA would recommend as a portable antenna for this locale for the 436.

Looking for an "all-around" antenna as I don't have any specific types of transmissions I want to listen to. Just looking for the greatest variety. At this point I want to listen to everything!

I have poked around and see that most people seem to like the Radio Shack 800 Mhz and Diamond antennas, but I I thought I would ask if folks had any recommendations specifically for here in LA.

Thanks!

Gildor

Since I am not getting any response, let me adjust my question a little.

Is there any difference in the types of antennas I should be looking at for an urban area with high signal density versus a rural setting with a relatively lower signal density?

Or does it really not matter about signal density and I should just get the antenna I need based on the frequency preferences I have when listening?

Thanks!

Voyager

You should be looking at frequency bands primarily, as antennas are designed for those. For general use, the stock antenna is not bad. Of course, the better antennas will be larger, so that will be a personal choice selection.

I'm assuming you want a portable antenna, correct? (not base or mobile)

Gildor

Thanks for the reply! Yes, I am interested in a portable antenna. I'll cross the base antenna bridge later.

At this point though, I don't have any particular frequencies I am targeting, being a newbie. Just based on my first day's experience, I can cross a couple of things out like looping broadcasts from the Weather Service and Airports.