antenna help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

jzmcpherson

Hello all I am new to most of this but heres the deal
I just ordered the Tram 1411discone wideband antenna
i also ordered the PL-259 cable
question 1 is
If I mount antenna on a 1 in by 20 ft long galvanized pipe directly in the ground at bottom and strapped to chimney at top
Is this a sufficant ground and how deep in the ground should pipe be put
question 2 is
this antenna does both cb and scanner so is there a switch to split it or how can o hook both up to same antenna since it only has one hook up on it
Will only be running one at a time and did not want to keep switching back and forth
Oh and cb is standard Cobra 29 Classic LTD
thanks for any help

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Hello all I am new to most of this but heres the deal
I just ordered the Tram 1411discone wideband antenna
i also ordered the PL-259 cable
question 1 is
If I mount antenna on a 1 in by 20 ft long galvanized pipe directly in the ground at bottom and strapped to chimney at top
Is this a sufficant ground and how deep in the ground should pipe be put

Depends on exactly what you are asking.
1. Are you asking if the bottom end of the pipe is far enough into the ground to keep it stable?
or
2. Are you asking if the fact that the metal pipe is partially buried in the earth is good enough for an electrical ground.

Answer to #1 is, "depends". Not enough info.
Answer to #2 is, That doesn't meet the National Electric Code requirements in any way to be an electrical ground.

question 2 is
this antenna does both cb and scanner so is there a switch to split it or how can o hook both up to same antenna since it only has one hook up on it
Will only be running one at a time and did not want to keep switching back and forth
Oh and cb is standard Cobra 29 Classic LTD
thanks for any help

There are two ways to do this. An easy way and an expensive way.