Antenna Inquiry

Status
Not open for further replies.

darkness975

Latrodectus
Premium Subscriber
Good evening all,

I am still a relative newbie to the scanner world. I have been listening for a long time but never really knew much about it until more recently.

I currently have two scanners that I am using. A Uniden Homepatrol 2 and a Uniden BCD325P2.

Anyway, I have a dilemma. I recently moved and my new location is in a valley and so I am not getting good signals on a lot of the transmissions around me. They both currently have the stock rubber duck antenna that comes in the box.

I borrowed my friend's antenna, which is the Diamond Antenna SRH789. I noticed a huge improvement in the reception. Here is the detail page:
https://www.amazon.com/Diamond-Orig...604941&sr=1-1&keywords=diamond+antenna+srh789

I was wondering if it would be prudent to purchase two of these for my Home Patrol 2 and BCD325P2. Are there "better" or "newer" versions of this extendable antenna that I should get instead? The frequency information from Amazon is:

"95MHz to 1100MHz AM/FM receiving(at full length), omnidirectional telescoping structure, folds at base. Specifications: Bands: 1/4wave(95 to 300MHz), 5/8wave (300 to 1100MHz) Gain (relative): 2.15dBi / 3.2dBi Impedance: 50ohms Max Power Rating: 10 watts Length: 7.9" retracted, 31.7" fully extended, 6 sections Weight: 1 oz. Connector: SMA ** Does not work with Baofeng radios ***"

Should I be looking at "newer" antennas that have wider frequency ranges? Do you guys/gals recommend any in particular?

Thank you in advance for your assistance, it is much appreciated by this newbie! :)

Last edited:

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
If you were impressed by the improvement with that antenna, you will be really impressed if you put an antenna outside your home, up as high as you safely can, and connect it back to your radio with some good coaxial cable.

darkness975

Latrodectus
Premium Subscriber