Antenna Switch (Receive Only) Suggestion ?

BOBRR

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
1,004
Location
Boston, MA
Hi,

Trying to find a "good" low loss antenna switch suitable for vhf/uhf all the way down.

Receive only.

I would like to switch a single antenna input to one of 3 outputs.

Saw the Diamond ones which look nice
and have good Amazon reviews, but $ 50 is a bit high for me, as I need two.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks,
Bob
 

WA8ZTZ

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
663
Be sure to compare the insertion loss and isolation specs.
IMHO, a cheapo switch is not really a "savings".
 

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,187
Location
California
I am unaware of a three position switch under $50. I probably would not buy one if I did, unless it was a used Alpha Delta B version.

Interesting, the Diamond numbers have lower insertion loss above 500 MHz. I do not use it for frequencies that high, but an interesting note.

For receive only, you could probably use some MFJ three position switches, but expect problems or more insertion loss than you may want. Take a look at QRZ.com and eHam.net. You may find a used Diamond or Alpha Delta or two pop up from time to time. Still, your less than $50 limit means switching cables by hand. You could use BNC adapters for quick switching until you save up for a switch.

I personally use a powered splitter to feed multiple radios using one antenna. This way I avoid switching anything, of course your needs may be different.
 

majoco

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
3,416
Location
New Zealand
Personally for flexibilty I would make a patch panel - BNC's in and out - one for each receiver and each antenna.
 

BOBRR

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
1,004
Location
Boston, MA
Hi,

Thanks for help; very appreciated.

a. Is "Diamond" a "quality" brand/product ?

b. Where can i find the powered splitters you refer to ?

I am not familiar with them at all.
Are the losses more or less the same as the switch approach ?

Thanks again,
Bob
 

pjxii

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2017
Messages
207
Location
Naples Florida USA
Hi,

Thanks for help; very appreciated.

a. Is "Diamond" a "quality" brand/product ?

b. Where can i find the powered splitters you refer to ?

I am not familiar with them at all.
Are the losses more or less the same as the switch approach ?

Thanks again,
Bo
I've never used a Diamond but the 3 position switch reviews on eHam are very positive (4.9 out of 5).

Active antenna switchers are expensive. I have an Elad ASA-15 (12 dB boost for one antenna and five receivers) sent from Germany and cost me @$300 shipped. Worth it for me, but certainly not for everyone.
 

jlh

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
206
I’ve used a Diamond CX310 for years. It has never failed. Made in Japan.
 
Top