Antenna tuner for reception too?

Status
Not open for further replies.

srd84

Hey. I bought a Yaesu Ft-857D yesterday and since I'm not taking my amradio test until next weekend, I wanted to monitor with it in the meantime. I was planning on buying an antenna tuner yesterday with the radio and using a random wire antenna (with a balun) but the guy at HRO said I didn't need it for reception only for transmitting. So at his suggestion I bought a 75' roll of stranded copper and have it stuck in the center of a BNC/PL259 adapter in the HF antenna port on the rig. I have this wire strung all the way around the room below the crown molding (it flopped down on my girl's head last night. she wasn't pleased.) I get some reception on 20m and Radio Havanna so far. 75' is about 20m right? Is this a coincidence? Anyway my question is antenna tuner for reception too? Isn't the idea to get 50 ohms at the transciever trans/ or recieve? Thanks. I'm still learning as you can see.

Steve

ohiodesperado

Your right, an antenna tuner WILL help you on receive. The radio is going to work better receiving off a 50 ohm in feed. In fact, most guys with antenna tuners will use the noise floor or a received signal to begin tuning their antenna tuner. They will peak the received signal and then tune with the transmitter to finish tuning.

As far as 75 feet for 20 meters. That would be around a half wave if I remember right. The math is 234/f and f being the frequency in Mhz. of course then 468/f would be a quarter wave.

If you have a tuner, and I suggest using one, the best luck I have had is with a an off center fed dipole.
Some folks call it a Windom but that's not fully correct. A Windom works off a ground plane that is below it. An off center fed dipole is a simple dipole with the feed point moved.

I run an off center fed dipole cut at 80 meters. and it works wonders on 80 20 17 15 10 meters. for some reason I get alot of RF in the shack on 40 meters so I don't use it there.