Any noticeable Bell County Public Safety changes in the past few weeks?

StatuSChecKa

Starting off by saying I am no expert, I just copy and paste frequencies into WIN500. My GRE-500 has been picking up the entire Bell County Public Safety channels very well for several years, I have each department nicely organized on different banks. I usually tune in a few times a week. I noticed over the weekend that I only pickup a few radio calls per hour, and they are very low quality. P25 has been pending forever here in Bell County. They bought P25 Radios like 10 years ago but never used encrp...

I was just seeing if someone smarter than me can tell me what is going on with the channels, if anything. Maybe I just have an expired list of frequencies.
Thanks to the community, and the people to have been providing talkgroup info over the past decades I have been with this site.

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
Are you monitoring the P25 system primarily as users are vacating (or have vacated) EDACS? If yes you may achieve better results using a receiver that fully supports tracking P25 Phase-II (which the GRE PSR-500 does not) especially in the event the talkgroups have become TDMA. Furthermore you may be experiencing a phenomenon known as simulcast distortion if you're picking up some transmissions but not others, particularly of a degraded quality. In that event you'd achieve much better results with a Uniden SDS100

Bell County (P25)
Project 25 Phase II
Now the primary system for Bell County
Bell County (EDACS)
EDACS Standard
Users are vacating this system. Several patches are in place to the P25 system

kd5dga

Premium Subscriber
Since last week there has been a lot more patched activity for all the wildfire that was going on.