• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Anybody in a area thats Rebanded??

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike6454

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
10
Location
Eagan,MN
I own a Pro-2096,Pro-96
BC796D
wondering if thes will still be able to handle the rebanding thats coming soon and wondering if anybody is in a area that has rebanded yet and if so how are your scanners working?
im in minnesota and i see thats zone 2.
my area is using freq.867-868mhz
 

John_M

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
1,486
Location
Rochester, N.Y.
Your scanners "Should" support rebanding. The 796D with a firmware update and the Pro-96 and 2096 using the custom tables.
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,380
Location
Lansing, MI
There is an entire Wiki, and boatloads of threads, related to this issue...
 

scannerfreak

Moderator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
5,195
Location
Indiana
rdale said:
There is an entire Wiki, and boatloads of threads, related to this issue...
As Rob stated there is plenty on this topic. However, I will re-open this per the request :)
 
Last edited:

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,501
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
No areas have undergone rebanding yet. So the questions cannot be answered. Rest assured that when it does happen people will know and no one will need to ask.

And as mentioned, there is a ton of information out there detailing when and where rebanding will occur.

Closed.

ETA: When I say no one has rebanded yet I do not mean a system has installed or updated their equipment to support rebanding. No system to date has made the switch to 851 from 866 and therefore is using the new rebanding Motorola bandplan that will cause issues with all late model scanners.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top