Anytone 878 Codeplug for Maryland

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
89
Location
Huntingtown, Maryland
Thanks but there was not one for my area so I had to make one. I've now spent roughly 12 hours diagnosing it and I have yet to make a contact or hear anything at all. I can't even hit my local analog repeater(which is less than 5 miles away), which is something my cheap baofeng can on low power. I'm either doing something wrong or I have the deadest radio I have ever used. I can barely get my local noaa weather station, which is a constant feed. Any ideas? Local zip is 20639 if that helps.
 

chief21

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
1,599
Location
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
I'm either doing something wrong or I have the deadest radio I have ever used. I can barely get my local noaa weather station, which is a constant feed. Any ideas?
If you're not already familiar with DMR radios, programming an 878 from scratch can be a bear. There are so many settings and it doesn't take much to render one useless.
Suggest that you study a known functional codeplug to learn the structure, then build a very basic one for your 878... maybe just one or two analog channels first, then add one or two DMR channels, until you get things working correctly. Once the light goes on over your head, then you can start over from scratch with your "dream" codeplug.
If you're not already aware, there are numerous DMR-related videos and tutorials that can be found online. Keep at it.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
89
Location
Huntingtown, Maryland
I figured out what I'm going to do: right now I'm talking to Bridgecomsystems (the retailer I bought it from) to see if I can return it. If I can't, I'm gonna sell it at a loss and try to get back some of what I paid. After that, I'm gonna leave the hobby completely and move on with my life. I've now put approximately 18 hours more/less straight into trying to get this to work and I have officially had it. Thank you to everyone who responded!
 

alcahuete

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
1,911
Location
Antelope Acres, California
I figured out what I'm going to do: right now I'm talking to Bridgecomsystems (the retailer I bought it from) to see if I can return it. If I can't, I'm gonna sell it at a loss and try to get back some of what I paid. After that, I'm gonna leave the hobby completely and move on with my life. I've now put approximately 18 hours more/less straight into trying to get this to work and I have officially had it. Thank you to everyone who responded!
That's up to you. It's not that hard. Start with basic analog repeaters and make sure everything is working there. Then move on to video. There are so many Youtube videos and websites out there related to programming for DMR, specifically this radio, it's not even funny.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
89
Location
Huntingtown, Maryland
I've tried videos. I took a class on this thing- retailer included one in the box. I've tried even entering in my local noaa freq (which is is a constant stream and I know works). If I could get my local analog repeater to work I won't be so frustrated but all I get is nothing but static.
 

vfn137

Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2003
Messages
2
Location
In Da Bucket
This site has a downloadable codeplug for the 868. It contains the repeaters for the Richmond area and should help with your programming.


Chris
km4ffv
 

alcahuete

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
1,911
Location
Antelope Acres, California
I've tried videos. I took a class on this thing- retailer included one in the box. I've tried even entering in my local noaa freq (which is is a constant stream and I know works). If I could get my local analog repeater to work I won't be so frustrated but all I get is nothing but static.
Definitely should not be getting static on a local NOAA broadcast. If that's the case, something is likely broken, either the antenna or the radio.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top