Apco-25

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,340
Location
Portland, OR
The PRO-96 won't trunk-track the 380 MHz Puget Sound Naval System, so you'll have to listen conventionally.

The JIWN system can probably be tracked with the PRO-96, but I haven't had any luck on coming up with the special table setting for the VHF system. It won't trunk track a VHF system without the CUSTOM TABLE settings.

- Chris
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,340
Location
Portland, OR
lowboy654 said:
How come it wont trunk 380mhz range

I think it's because the trunking firmware in the radio was never designed to cover this band. The radio itself is not specified to cover the 380-400 MHz band anyway and is only capable of those frequencies by using the Win96 software package.

The Uniden P-25 scanners can trunk the 380 MHz systems, probably because the firmware was upgraded to actully use the P-25 trunking data stream which supplies the actual voice frequencies. The Radio Shack scanners don't use the data stream in the same way...

- Chris
 

lowboy654

DB Admin Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
2,293
Location
Northwest, WA
Thanks i was hoping that I could get it to trunk the system that i was asking about, I am using pro96com software and it was decoding the talk groups and radio IDS and stuff and my pro96 is getting over 50% for this system and is displaying system ID and with pro96com it is showing me the voice channel.
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,340
Location
Portland, OR
lowboy654 said:
Thanks i was hoping that I could get it to trunk the system that i was asking about, I am using pro96com software and it was decoding the talk groups and radio IDS and stuff and my pro96 is getting over 50% for this system and is displaying system ID and with pro96com it is showing me the voice channel.

Yep, the PRO-96 and PRO96COM can't be beat for sniffing out those P-25 trunked systems and all the info you might need!

- Chris
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,741
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
ChrisP said:
The JIWN system can probably be tracked with the PRO-96, but I haven't had any luck on coming up with the special table setting for the VHF system. It won't trunk track a VHF system without the CUSTOM TABLE settings.

Chris,

The tower txt page in the Pro96Com program should give you the table settings.
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,340
Location
Portland, OR
fmon said:
Chris,

The tower txt page in the Pro96Com program should give you the table settings.

Thanks, Frank. And you are correct, but so at this time the data stream lists about 12 VHF base frequencies in very odd steps. The PRO-96 won't take them as displayed in PRO96COM.

Did I read something about Don Starr modifying Win96 to do weird step sizes for the Virginia STARS VHF system?

- Chris
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,741
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
ChrisP said:
Thanks, Frank. And you are correct, but so at this time the data stream lists about 12 VHF base frequencies in very odd steps. The PRO-96 won't take them as displayed in PRO96COM.

Did I read something about Don Starr modifying Win96 to do weird step sizes for the Virginia STARS VHF system?

- Chris
Yes, Win96 V1.53 will allow step settings of 2.500 in the extended tables.

Could you attach your tower txt? Could be your system is similar to STARS. Notice the tables near top left.
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,340
Location
Portland, OR
fmon said:
Could you attach your tower txt?

Sure, here's the table from System 715 Tower 115;

00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625
01,762.00625,0.00625,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625
02,136.00000,0.01250,-6.58750,"Confirmed",0.01250
03,136.00000,0.01250,-5.93750,"Confirmed",0.01250
04,136.00000,0.01250,-4.33750,"Confirmed",0.01250
05,136.00000,0.01250,-4.15000,"Confirmed",0.01250
06,136.00000,0.01250,-4.02500,"Confirmed",0.01250
07,136.00000,0.01250,-3.81250,"Confirmed",0.01250
08,136.00000,0.01250,-3.73750,"Confirmed",0.01250
09,136.00000,0.01250,-3.63750,"Confirmed",0.01250
10,136.00000,0.01250,-3.58750,"Confirmed",0.01250
11,136.00000,0.00250,-25.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250
12,142.24000,0.00250,-25.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250
13,152.48000,0.00250,-25.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250
14,162.72000,0.00250,-25.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250

- Chris
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,741
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
Try this table identifier setup with MOT 9600 CC Multi table bullet selected.
Code:
ID Ch Lo   Ch Hi  Base Freq   Offset Step
00 45056   49151  136.00000   45056  25.000
01 49152   53247  142.24000   49152  25.000
02 53248   57343  152.48000   53248  25.000
03 57344   61439  162.72000   57344  25.000
 

ChrisP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,340
Location
Portland, OR
Thanks very much, Frank. I've got those table values plugged in and I'll let you know if it works. The biggest problem right now is that the system activity level is fairly low...

- Chris
 

brucewarming

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
445
Location
Martinsburg WV.
PRO96COM, I see your using this. I read and posted on the other forum (software/apco)? Read that before I looked and seen here that FMON, Franks on the job! Anyway the
"read me" file pg. 27 and on has some more information on how to go about figuring settings, you may have already seen this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top