App to help connect Elmers and new HAMs

Status
Not open for further replies.

synthetik

Hello all. I'm a Technician license holder and also a designer by trade. I'm doing some research on a project for an app that would easily connect those willing to be Elmers to those new hams looking for mentorship. I would love it if anyone could share their thoughts on the below or anything else you would like to add. Your response greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

• How do you currently find Elmers or how do Elmers currently find new hams in need of mentorship?
  • What is the most challenging part of this process using current tools, sites, etc?
  • How / what would make this process easier for you?
  • What kind of features (sky's the limit) would you like to see in this application?
  • What would you NOT like to see in this application?
  • Are there any constraints or concerns you may have that would make this process difficult? What could help alleviate this?
  • Any other thoughts/insights into this issue you would like to share?

CQ

Interacting with people from local ham clubs and repeaters. Or maybe a ham fest but I personally haven't gone to one since the last millennium. I would say Usenet newsgroups but is that a thing any more?

I don't do "apps" so forums or whatever a web browser search comes up with (credible sources of course) would be my choice.

Chronic

Hams use Ham Radio's , many don't have or use smart phones so an "APP" is going to only reach the younger hams , some will be willing and able to Elmer. using a local repeater and ask for help on what you need help on , most times there is someone willing to help . Also like CQ says , go to your local ham club .

synthetik

To clarify this could be a web-based service accessible via a browser as well as an app. This may help frame answers to some of the questions above and the aversion to smartphones/apps.

CQ

No aversion to smartphones...been using them since first released and before.