• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

APX 7000

Status
Not open for further replies.

rockriver556

Newbie
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
4
While using the remote speaker microphone with 700/800 MHz antenna built in, does the radio transmit with the lapel mic antenna regardless of which PTT button is pressed? Does it TX with the lapel only when the lapel PTT is pressed?
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,205
It transmits with both, but there is an option in CPS to select where the audio source will be selected from when a speaker mic is connected.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,577
Location
Texas
It transmits with both, but there is an option in CPS to select where the audio source will be selected from when a speaker mic is connected.


He's not referring to the audio source but the physical antenna.

The real question is, what banding of apx7000 are we taking about? V/800 or U/800?

V/800 is easy to answer. Motorola discovered around 20 years ago that VHF PSM's impinge performance compared to a belt worn HT. As a result, VHF radios don't reroute RF to the PSM. So with a 7000, VHF utilizes the radio's antenna while 800 utilizes the PSM antenna.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

rockriver556

Newbie
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
4
It is a VHF/800. So while on 800 band if I TX using the PTT on the RSM it will utilize the RSM antenna? What about when I key the PTT button on the radio itself - will it then use the HT antenna? Is the RSM antenna disabled when operating in VHF band, defaulting to the HT antenna regardless of which PTT button is pushed? I guess my biggest question is if the HT antenna gets bypassed anytime the RSM with built in antenna is attached to the radio?
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,205
Ahhh yes so he did. My bad. Well I guess the additional info can't hurt. :)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,577
Location
Texas
It is a VHF/800. So while on 800 band if I TX using the PTT on the RSM it will utilize the RSM antenna? What about when I key the PTT button on the radio itself - will it then use the HT antenna? Is the RSM antenna disabled when operating in VHF band, defaulting to the HT antenna regardless of which PTT button is pushed? I guess my biggest question is if the HT antenna gets bypassed anytime the RSM with built in antenna is attached to the radio?


If the RSM is connected it will bypass and use the RSM antenna for 800 MHz regardless of the PTT used. Audio may not be setup that way. VHF will always use the portables antenna regardless of the PTT used.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top