• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

APX APX CPS Installation?

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
39
Installing CPS and I get this screen followed by three others for files to be installed, could anybody help me set this up correctly to get the CPS installed...
Thanks!!
 

Attachments

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
39
I tried to download that but Microsoft says I have a new version already installed......
 

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
39
Was able to get the CPS installed by strictly running the CPS file, so now I can’t get the cable to read the radio and when checking the cable driver the PC cannot find the driver. I get an audible tone from the PC speakers when connecting and disconnecting the cable to the PC though any suggestions?
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,242
Try this:
-Power off radio
-Connect cable to radio
-Connect cable to PC
-Power radio
Did you set the port in the program the radio cable is connected to the computer?
Doesn't need to. It should automatically recognize it
 

GTR8000

NYS Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
9,290
Location
BEE00
Did you set the port in the program the radio cable is connected to the computer?
Port? APX radios connect via Ethernet over USB, not a COM port.

Download the APX USB drivers from MOL, then try again.
 

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
39
Did you set the port in the program the radio cable is connected to the computer?
No, I didn't where is that done? Also in my device manager the "Motorola APX Radio" says that the Driver needs to be installed. I cant figure this out, I thought the driver would be in a file in the CPS somewhere...
 

GTR8000

NYS Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
9,290
Location
BEE00
Would you be so kind to send a link for that driver download?
The APX USB driver install software is in the same folder on MOL as the APX CPS. Log back into your MOL account and look for Motorola APX USB Setup at the bottom of the APX Family Portables and Mobiles page.
 

mikey224

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
39
Thank you for all the help Gentleman, It was a PC issue not allowing me to install an unsigned driver. I was able to get it up and running.
 
Top