• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

APX Display

Medic10mda

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
36
Would anyone know why E4F2 should show up as a prefix to a radio ID on a P25 conventional channel? For example incoming radio ID is 12345, the APX display shows: "E4F212345"
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,249
It could be that the radio is set to show "E4F" instead of "ID:"
For example, I know a place that has the radio ID in front of the P25 ID when it shows the ID. Like the radio ID is 205, so when an ID comes up it shows "205 12345"
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,193
Would anyone know why E4F2 should show up as a prefix to a radio ID on a P25 conventional channel? For example incoming radio ID is 12345, the APX display shows: "E4F212345"
They could have it programmed in as the Soft ID.
 

Medic10mda

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
36
It could be that the radio is set to show "E4F" instead of "ID:"
For example, I know a place that has the radio ID in front of the P25 ID when it shows the ID. Like the radio ID is 205, so when an ID comes up it shows "205 12345"
Any idea what the feature is called? cannot locate it.
 

tyler3328

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
59
Location
Medina Tx
In your APX CPS go to
Radio Ergonomics > Controls > Display > ID Display

There you will see what the Prefix is for UID

If you do not locate the Prefix you are seeing there then
Call List Config > Unified Call List

See if the prefix is attached to any Alias
 

Medic10mda

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
36
In your APX CPS go to
Radio Ergonomics > Controls > Display > ID Display

There you will see what the Prefix is for UID

If you do not locate the Prefix you are seeing there then
Call List Config > Unified Call List

See if the prefix is attached to any Alias
FIXED! Thank you.
 

tyler3328

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
59
Location
Medina Tx
FIXED! Thank you.
Awesome.
BUT..... Remember many agencies weather it be as small as a Single Agency or as large as a State Coordinated. Be sure that the Sys Admin did not have the Prefixes in there to match their Unit ID Map. They may have had the prefix or Alias programmed in such a way to correspond with their UID Map and changing that may make it hard for asset tracking or dispatch
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,249
Awesome.
BUT..... Remember many agencies weather it be as small as a Single Agency or as large as a State Coordinated. Be sure that the Sys Admin did not have the Prefixes in there to match their Unit ID Map. They may have had the prefix or Alias programmed in such a way to correspond with their UID Map and changing that may make it hard for asset tracking or dispatch
Not sure what the prefix has to do with tracking since radio tracking should be done via serial number anyway. The prefix is strictly how it looks on the radio when an ID shows up. But I agree that unless it's your personal radio I wouldn't really mess with the radio. It's a nice way to get the codeplug locked.
 

tyler3328

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
59
Location
Medina Tx
I agreed it should be done via serial. But I’m referring to when the radio is TXing ID to other units. When the is shows up on other radios it should be according to their UID plan. I do understand that it is on his device and it will show differently but if it’s an agency radio and someone uses it they may be confused with the ID display

It’s hard for me to explain
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,249
I agreed it should be done via serial. But I’m referring to when the radio is TXing ID to other units. When the is shows up on other radios it should be according to their UID plan. I do understand that it is on his device and it will show differently but if it’s an agency radio and someone uses it they may be confused with the ID display

It’s hard for me to explain
Ok I think I know what you are talking about. OP shouldn't be changing the radio ID in the personalty but that's not the same as changing the prefix from "E4F2".
 

Medic10mda

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
36
Ok I think I know what you are talking about. OP shouldn't be changing the radio ID in the personalty but that's not the same as changing the prefix from "E4F2".
It was only the prefix I wanted to eliminate in personal radio. Thank You for the above info.
 
Top