• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

APX no-affiliation listening

Status
Not open for further replies.

Baker845

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
98
Location
Beaver state
Does any one have the instructions for setting up the apx 7000 radio for no-affiliation method on p25 Uhf
trunking system?
 
Last edited:

redbeard

OH, PA, WV Regional Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 5, 2003
Messages
459
Location
Greater Pittsburgh/Beaver County
Have you read the instructions at communications.support? It does work. Safest way for me was to use my channel knob as zone select and then put the trunk zones in zone 17, 18, 19, etc. That way as long as I didn't have a zone button programmed I could never accidentally switch to a channel to affiliate. I just reference the talkgroups I wanted to hear in the scan list, which was easily edited. I had zone 16 as my scan zone and then used RX only conventional channels as my scan list placeholder channels.

I found I preferred to stick with the zone knob because I typically sat on one channel all the time anyway, and I set the left and right soft buttons as CHUP and CHDN. It also made more sense since I could have more than 16 channels in a zone. And with last channel/zone checked, I didn't have to scroll the list every time I switched zones.
 

Baker845

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
98
Location
Beaver state
I can't get on that web site so I thought I ask here. If some one could pm or email me the instructions that would be great.
 

lacoscannerguy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
80
Does any one have the instructions for setting up the apx 7000 radio for no-affiliation method on p25 Uhf
trunking system?
I've had no problems at all when it comes to 800mhz systems. But when it comes to UHF, I've never been successful.

If you find a way, PLEASE, do share.

Thanks so much!!

Paul
 

dpcain

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,399
Location
MD
Same exact procedure between UHF and 7/8, just different bandplan and CC frequencies...

Not sure why that wouldn't work, I got it going just fine.
 

lacoscannerguy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
80
Same exact procedure between UHF and 7/8, just different bandplan and CC frequencies...

Not sure why that wouldn't work, I got it going just fine.
Still having the issues. Just tried again, with no luck. I have the Astro 25 channels loaded; the correct control channels; etc etc etc. Nothing working for me when it comes to UHF.

Very frustrating indeed.

Thanks.

Paul
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
4,845
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
Still having the issues. Just tried again, with no luck. I have the Astro 25 channels loaded; the correct control channels; etc etc etc. Nothing working for me when it comes to UHF.

Very frustrating indeed.

Thanks.

Paul
Not much help, but I do it on several P25 UHF systems with no issues at all.

Are you 100% positive the bandplan is correct?
 

redbeard

OH, PA, WV Regional Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 5, 2003
Messages
459
Location
Greater Pittsburgh/Beaver County
Not much help, but I do it on several P25 UHF systems with no issues at all.

Are you 100% positive the bandplan is correct?
Same here. It's all about the bandplan. If you haven't edited it, or know what we are talking about, that is the problem.

Also http://communications.support works fine for me. If you "can't get on that site" you have issues OP.
 

dpcain

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,399
Location
MD
Sniff it with a traffic analyzer.

RTL SDR and Unitrunker/Pro96Com works well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top