• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

APX6000 1.5 to 3.5 conversion

smorris

WX3PMC/WQWZ815/MOPA-27
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
80
Location
Arlington Heights, PA
If one wanted to convert an APX6000 model 1.5 to a 3.5, can a display and keypad simply be installed, or will the radio need a FW change?
 

GTR8000

NYS Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
9,286
Location
BEE00
Can't be done without using software that we don't discuss here, as it requires a model change from 5AN/BN to 7AN/BN, not just upgraded firmware. You can physically install a new back chassis, LCD module, and 3.5 housing/keypad, but it won't be functional and you'll only see a fraction of the items on the display. Basically, it'll be a waste of $350+ dollars.

Take my advice, if you do decide to pursue this, find another site to discuss it on.
 

smorris

WX3PMC/WQWZ815/MOPA-27
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
80
Location
Arlington Heights, PA
Can't be done without using software that we don't discuss here, as it requires a model change from 5AN/BN to 7AN/BN, not just upgraded firmware. You can physically install a new back chassis, LCD module, and 3.5 housing/keypad, but it won't be functional and you'll only see a fraction of the items on the display. Basically, it'll be a waste of $350+ dollars.

Take my advice, if you do decide to pursue this, find another site to discuss it on.
Thank you.
 

jruta

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
162
Location
Nj
Can't be done without using software that we don't discuss here, as it requires a model change from 5AN/BN to 7AN/BN, not just upgraded firmware. You can physically install a new back chassis, LCD module, and 3.5 housing/keypad, but it won't be functional and you'll only see a fraction of the items on the display. Basically, it'll be a waste of $350+ dollars.

Take my advice, if you do decide to pursue this, find another site to discuss it on.
GTR, is this process done “legally” or officially anywhere? Or must the radio be born that way from the factory? Thanks
 

n3obl

Ø
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,059
Location
PA
GTR, is this process done “legally” or officially anywhere? Or must the radio be born that way from the factory? Thanks
No, you must buy the radio model you want from motorola. no legitimate field upgrade.
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,233
No, you must buy the radio model you want from motorola. no legitimate field upgrade.
No legitimate upgrade, but I did own an upgraded one, & it worked perfectly as a hobby radio.
Maybe my mind is deceiving me but I thought you could send it in to Moto to get it upgraded like you could an XTS?
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
8,127
Location
NW Tenn
Yep more than you think are all about the dollar.
I have seen dealers go 25% - 50% over MSRP.
But the internet has slowed that down.
 
Top