• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

APX7000XE noise cancelling option

Status
Not open for further replies.

SlipNutz15

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
468
Location
Mifflintown, PA
I understand the APX7000XE has rather good background noise suppression technology. I recently bought an APX7000XE and would like to enable the noise suppression on my digital channels.

I watched this video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUxAw55O1rg) on youtube and was fairly impressed. I know both the XE RSM which the second guy uses and the first guy uses just the radio, both have dual mics.

What options in the CPS do I have to edit and apply to my digital channels to get these results?

I know there's an XTREME 1 Sided noise option, is that what I want to add to the digital channel profiles? Do I need to edit any of the settings in XTREME 1 SIDE or is fine the way it is originally in the CPS?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:

N2AL

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
416
Location
Tennessee
We have used this function at work and for most of our radios, it has been a TERRIBLE option! It has actually nearly completely suppressed the users voice, even on the roadside with traffic at 70 mph.

To me it's a good concept but the technology behind this function leaves much to be desired, and creates safety concerns.

Just kind of throwing my two cents in there. I suggest looking into this function to make sure it will function properly with your radio and its uses.
 

SlipNutz15

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
468
Location
Mifflintown, PA
This is the kind of information I'm looking for, real world. Anyone else have any experience with this feature?
 

APX7500X2

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
630
Location
NY/CT
I understand the APX7000XE has rather good background noise suppression technology. I recently bought an APX7000XE and would like to enable the noise suppression on my digital channels.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.
We use this feature and it works great!!!!

It took a few hours of tweaking the settings but we can stand next to a K12 saw at full throttle and the persons voice on the other end is perfectly clear.

You need someone who knows what they are doing with the programming, Most Motorola shops don't have people who really know how to program and rely on Motorola to help them(and Motorola has no real word experience), Lucky for us our Motorola shop has a great programmer and he has spent a lot of time figuring this feature out for us.
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
What kind of tweaking, can you explain? I thought it was a feature that you would turn on or off.
It's programmed into the radio profile. You can set up several profiles and select them through either mode (trunk or conventional personality) or zone selection, I don't recall which. So, you can't specifically turn it on or off, but can with careful design of your zone and mode programming.
 

SlipNutz15

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
468
Location
Mifflintown, PA
zz0468, can you provide me with specific information about what was modified or send me a PM so we can talk about getting a copy of your radio's codeplug so I can copy it that way?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
Yes, but I'm traveling for a few days and won't be able to get to a computer to open a codeplug to provide details until late this week.
 

jluisi86

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
68
I would be interested in the settings your using also, I was using the extreme sided settings with an APX8000 and during normal communication, the volume was pretty low and distant.
 

ME801

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
143
Location
NV
I would be interested in your settings also as we do a lot of chain saw work. I don't know if you want to post them here or send in a PM. Thanks in advance.
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
Here's the info you guys have been waiting for...

In CPS, in the navigation window, open the Radio Ergonomics​ Configuration branch, then go to Radio Profiles. Under Radio Profiles, you can create profiles with different behaviors of lights, speakers, audio response, mic gain, and noise reduction. You can create any reasonable number of different configurations with different sets of parameters. This is where you would change these items.

Under Zone Channel Assignment, this is where you assign a trunked talk group or conventional mode, name, personality, etc. One of the items assignable by individual mode is the Radio Profiles created in the Radio Ergonomics section mentioned above.

The desired audio characteristics would then be built into a profile, and the desired profile selected by mode. You could then have several otherwise identical modes with different mic gain and noise reduction characteristics you could manually switch through.

I hope that's what you guys are looking for. I'll leave out specific details of what my radio does because you really need to see what works for your particular use. You should now be able to easily change settings and experiment to see what you like.
 

kma281

Newbie
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
3
As mentioned by zz0468, you assign the Profile on the Zone Channel Assignment screen. If you set that field to "Last Selected" and then assign a menu item for Prfl, you are able to select any of the created profiles from any channel at any time. Keep the "Default" Profile unchanged and you can select it via the menu to go back to normal, default operation at your convenience.
 

SlipNutz15

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
468
Location
Mifflintown, PA
I understand where the profiles are and how to either make them permanent or have the user able to switch between them, I'm looking for a starting point and/or a copy of his codeplug since the N2AL said he had horrible results with the default XTREME profile and zz0468 said he worked with someone and it worked well.
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
I primarily​ use Noise Reduction "normal", and Gain/Sensitivity "reduce feedback" settings. Those are the settings that I have found to sound most natural, which is a desired characteristic for what I use the radio for. I can't share a copy of the codeplug, it's not for public consumption.

My settings work well in a controlled relatively quiet environment, and I'm just as happy with noise reduction turned off. The Gain/Sensitivity setting does an ok job of reducing background noise without adding weird artifacts to the audio quality.

Other users like fire and LE will probably have problems with my settings.
 
Last edited:

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
I'm looking for a setting for LE and FD purposes...
Just use the normal noise reduction for starters. I wouldn't change from that unless there is a compelling reason to do so. Any further processing of the audio comes with a price, usually intelligibility.
 
Last edited:

SlipNutz15

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
468
Location
Mifflintown, PA
APX7500X2, you said you guys have used these features. Any way for you to provide your audio level settings? Screenshots or whatever. I'm not looking for your entire codeplug unless you have nothing to hide.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top