Are These The Same?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Muilisx

Greetings,

I just purchased a Uniden BC125AT but I want to buy the better antenna for it. As some of you know I'm a total beginner in this field / hobby. The BC125AT is my first scanner. I've always owned regular 2 way radios and they usually were always around $30 so nothing fancy.

This first link is the better main antenna that I want you all to base all the other off of.

https://www.amazon.com/Diamond-Orig...id=1488276365&sr=8-1&keywords=BC125AT+ANTENNA

Now, the next links are of antenna that look identical but more much less than the Diamond. I want to know if these are the same spec wise as I'm not sure. if I can buy the same antenna for much less then I would like to do so.

16" BNC scanner antenna for Uniden BCD246T BCD296D BC125AT BC75XLT BC95XLT | eBay

14.4" BNC Male Antenna for Uniden BC125AT BC75XLT BC95XLT BC125AT Scanner Radio | eBay

Now, besides the lengths being different. Is there anything different about the cheaper ones compared to the Diamond?

Thank you for your help!

br0adband

The Diamond RH77CA is pretty much a mainstay in the Ham and scanner communities these days, it is arguably one of the best antennas ever made but technically by design it is actually a Ham antenna for use on the 2 meter (144-148 MHz) and 70 centimeter (420-450 MHz) bands in terms of transmit capability (antennas need to be tuned for specific frequencies to keep the SWR down as low as possible or else you could burn out your transmitter).