Are time slots consistant with talkgroups?

Status
Not open for further replies.

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,136
Location
Coconut Creek, FL
For example, I have seen DMR talkgroup 3174, Southeast Regional, listed as using time slot 1. On other lists this same talkgroup is listed as using time slot 2. Same thing with "TAC 310" and "TAC 311"; I have seen both listed as time slot 1 or time slot 2, depending on the repeater. Is this accurate or a listing error?
 

AI7PM

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
558
Location
The Intermountain West
"In the beginning", TS 1 was generally for linking, and TS 2 was local, local networks, or Tacs.
In my travels I'm seeing every possible combination you can think of. So no.
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
3,136
Location
Coconut Creek, FL
"In the beginning", TS 1 was generally for linking, and TS 2 was local, local networks, or Tacs.
In my travels I'm seeing every possible combination you can think of. So no.
That means I can't just assume that TG 3174 is time slot 1 on every repeater; it may be time slot 2 on some repeaters? So any general listing of what time slot goes what talkgroup is meaningless, it depends on the individual repeater?
 

HamRFinCT

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
32
That means I can't just assume that TG 3174 is time slot 1 on every repeater; it may be time slot 2 on some repeaters? So any general listing of what time slot goes what talkgroup is meaningless, it depends on the individual repeater?
Yes, to both questions.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
12,995
Location
VA
A talkgroup may not even be assigned a particular timeslot on a repeater. Some repeaters can be programmed so that talkgroup traffic can go to whichever timeslot is available, which makes sense if the repeater can carry more than 2 talkgroups. The first user to key up gets slot 1, the second gets slot 2, regardless of the talkgroup they are using.
 

MSS-Dave

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
375
Location
Generally Central Florida
A talkgroup may not even be assigned a particular timeslot on a repeater. Some repeaters can be programmed so that talkgroup traffic can go to whichever timeslot is available, which makes sense if the repeater can carry more than 2 talkgroups. The first user to key up gets slot 1, the second gets slot 2, regardless of the talkgroup they are using.
Well....no. It does not work that way. The subscriber radio controls what time slot it transmits on EXCEPT in trunking. The subscriber radio holds all the TX contact list information that the radio uses to access the repeater along with RX group if used. For conventional applications, the repeater repeats whichever timeslot comes with any valid radio ID and the correct color code. In linked application like DMR -MARC, the bridge controls whether your ID is valid, and your talkgroup your radio is programmed to gets linked onto the network. That's how some repeaters have TG1 for WorldWide and others TG2.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
12,995
Location
VA
I was talking more generally, to include trunked systems.

But generally or specifically, sort traffic by talkgroup, not timeslot.
 

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
Totally depends on the type of Mototrbo system you are planning to monitor. IP connect systems have the timeslot dedicated, just as one freq single site mototrbo repeaters. Then you get into connect plus and capacity plus, etc., and timeslots are dynamically assigned.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,859
Location
Central Ontario
Totally depends on the type of Mototrbo system you are planning to monitor.

Once again for those of you with reading comprehension issues, we are in the Amateur Radio forum and the OP is asking about an amateur radio network.
Please take a minute to actually read the thread and understand the question the OP is asking before responding.
Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top