• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Astro Digital Trunking

Status
Not open for further replies.

NuclearDoctor

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
6
Location
Delran
Ok, we wanted to hook an Astro Digital Trunking System up to our speaker system in our engine bay but we don't see a speaker output on the Astro by Motorola. Does anyone know how to do this or the best way to?
 

ResQguy

Meh
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,290
If it doesn't have a speaker, how does it work at all? Could you clarify what kind of radio this is?
 

NuclearDoctor

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
6
Location
Delran
Its a Motorola Astro, its the achually base unit that you use to talk and hear with. It has a built in speaker, I don't see any outputs on it.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Please post the exact model number. "Astro" refers to a whole line of products. There may be a connector on the back to provide external audio.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,891
Location
Central Ontario
He's probably looking for a headphone or external speaker jack which doesn't exist.

You should be able to hook something up to the connector on the back of the radio using the appropriate outputs. Just be careful not to ground them or you'll blow the audio amp.

Perhaps you'd be better off calling in the local two way shop to do the job for you instead of risking damage to the radio.
 

grem467

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
884
Location
Houston, TX
i would HIGHLY recommend you call whoever maintains your radio system and have them offer a solution/tech to do this. That consolette is extremely expensive and someone wouldnt be happy about damage to it. it is VERY easy to blow the audio amp in it if you are not careful.
 

NuclearDoctor

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
6
Location
Delran
Yea but its alot of money to have someone come out and do it thats why we were trying to find directions on how to do it.
 

SLWilson

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
1,221
Location
Ohio
15 pin connector.....

NuclearDoctor said:
Yea but its alot of money to have someone come out and do it thats why we were trying to find directions on how to do it.
You "shouldn't" have to have PAY anyone come out & hook it up.....Just call the motorola shop, tell them you need one of the 15 pin connectors that plugs into the back of the radio that THEY will set up for you to run an EXTERNAL speaker. They should send it to you for about $5.oo bucks. You wire up your speaker leads to the two wires they left sticking out of the plug, and, away you go!!!!

We have one hooked up to our Zetron radio console that way.....

Steve/KB8FAR
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top