• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Astro Saber and trunking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Astrogoth13

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
146
Location
City of Angels, CA.
Howdy,

I know it can be done, in theory, but has anyone on here done it themselves? Analog mode only? One system or more? Must you have firmware 6.7 or can you have a newer release, like 7.7? Number of talkgroups?

Thanks guys.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,263
Location
Hubert, NC
I don't understand the question. We have a few Astro Sabers on our trunking system here.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,263
Location
Hubert, NC
As long as the flash supports trunking, then there should be no problem. All of our talk groups are analog.

What model of Astro Saber do you have? Most of ours are model 1s that only support up to 32 modes/talk groups/channels. Some (model 3s) support up to 255 modes/talk groups/channels.
 
Last edited:

Astrogoth13

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
146
Location
City of Angels, CA.
Astro Sabers with a host firmware older than 6.70 won't support trunking. 6.70 does. The very latest, 7.71.06, I'm not sure about. The AS wasn't designed to be a trunking god. The XTS's do that.
The AS is just a suped up Saber. It has it's limits.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,263
Location
Hubert, NC
Astro Sabers with a host firmware older than 6.70 won't support trunking. 6.70 does. The very latest, 7.71.06, I'm not sure about. The AS wasn't designed to be a trunking god. The XTS's do that.
The AS is just a suped up Saber. It has it's limits.
Not sure where you got this info, but it's wrong. I have several Astro Sabers sitting right here that are on a trunking system that have a host of R05.52.08 with a DSP of N06.04.12 that are all working fine. There has been even older firmware than that that did trunking. The Astro Saber is not just a suped up Saber as Sabers were never able to do trunking, nor were they ever capable of digital. Systems Sabers were the only version that would do trunking before the Astro Saber came out. :wink:
 

mancow

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
6,406
Location
N.E. Kansas
I think they are referring to true ASTRO25 trunking. There was a specific host / dsp combo that allowed for it. If I recall correctly it was a matter of firware memory. Some things had to be left out to accommodate the code to support it.


(paging r0f)
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
12,076
Location
Central Ontario
The AS wasn't designed to be a trunking god. The XTS's do that. The AS is just a suped up Saber. It has it's limits.
There's very few differences between the XTS3000 and the Astro Saber. They even use the same RSS to program. If you consider the XTS a trunking god, then the Astro Saber would be included in that description as well. Just a little bulkier but the workings are the same as the XTS3K.

Except for a similar external appearance and some accessories, the Astro Saber and the Saber don't share anything in common. There's no way anybody would consider the Astro Saber a souped up Saber.
 

kb9sxk

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
368
Location
Southern Indiana
Astro Sabers with a host firmware older than 6.70 won't support trunking. 6.70 does. The very latest, 7.71.06, I'm not sure about. The AS wasn't designed to be a trunking god. The XTS's do that.
The AS is just a suped up Saber. It has it's limits.

Dude..What?

I think you might want to do some reading.

There is this thing called Project 16. (Indiana Safe-T)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top