• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Astro Spectra Base station Power Supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

Will001

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
500
Location
Pine Ridge, SC
Howdy y'all I'm about to get a Motorola Astro Spectra UHF 25 Watt radio, and I want to use it as a base rig for my local GMRS repeaters. I have a Motorola power supply (Model # is HPN 1007B), and I was told it could handle 25 watts, but I am still suspicious if it can or not. If someone could tell me if it can or can't handle 25 watts, and what model to get if it dosen't work, that would be great!
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,617
Location
Texas
It's rated at 5A peak. If you have access to an Astros Spectra service manual (you can find it on Google more than likely) you can look up what the radio is actually rated to draw current wise.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,945
Location
So Cali
10–25 Watt UHF radio.:
Standby @ 13.8 V: 0.7 A
Receive at Rated Audio @ 13.8 V: 3.0 A
Transmit @ Rated Power: 7.0 A

So you would need a 10 amp power supply to be safe, power supply rating(s) can be confusing the way are listed.
 

Will001

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
500
Location
Pine Ridge, SC
Thanks for the replies! I should have mentioned that the power supply says "10 amp surge" on the bottom. I have another 10 amp power supply I've transmitted 30 watts from my HF rig with. If I use that, I know I'll be safe.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,702
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
RF wattage (of any kind) does not equal DC wattage. You need to know the current requirements of the specific radio to determine the adequate power supply size.

True story: Over on another unnamed forum form hams, someone asked the required fuse size for a 40 watt Motorola M-1225. I gave him the correct fuse size needed. Instead of just installing the recommended fuse, he took my number and applied the w/v=a formula and installed a much smaller fuse which, of course, resulted in blown fuses as soon as he keyed up the radio. I ended up having to verbally call him out for using the wrong formula and disregarding the correct info that I gave him up front. He kept insisting that he was correct using w/v=a. It took some strong words from me, and validation from other posters to bring him back to reality.

The manufacturer's specs, especially for legacy radios, are easily found on the the net for this purpose.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,945
Location
So Cali
RF wattage (of any kind) does not equal DC wattage. You need to know the current requirements of the specific radio to determine the adequate power supply size.

The manufacturer's specs, especially for legacy radios, are easily found on the the net for this purpose.
Which I looked up and posted .Right from the factory service manuals and our own testing. 7 Amps.

And the second part, well that was not on the "HAM" test, so how would they know that, as you mentioned, they do not listen very well........

Bottom line: a DC power supply capable of providing 13.6 volts DC at up to ten amps intermittent, AKC ICAS, duty rating.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top