• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

astro spectra woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

emtclimber

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
15
Have a w5 remote mount 1meg vhf astro spectra. radio powers on through self test fine. stays wirking for about 5 min then shuts off and power cycles. i have put a new codeplug in and still nothing. power issue or command board issue? also no fail codes display
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,369
Location
Midlothian, VA
That'd be the first thing to check. Whenever I hear about a Spectra (regular or Astro) problem, that's my initial thought.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,340
Location
So Cali
Leaking or already leaked capacitors probaly will not cause the radio to shut down in five minuets or so.

But we repair them here,
 

jiminpgh

Lurker
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
102
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Spectra Nodding Off

The regular spectra had capacitor issues, not sure on the astro version.
I have good luck with Ray on ebay changing my capacitors.
I always check the easiest and least expensive items first.
Is the power supply cutting out?
How about your power wiring?
The green ignition sense wire good?
Spare control head?

Just trying to help.
Jim in Pittsburgh
 
Last edited:

emtclimber

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
15
Update: so far have ruled out control head issue and have qired radio and ignition sense directly to battery.opened it up and found no visible leaking caps.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,340
Location
So Cali
If you see leaking capacitors it is usually too late, the damage has already been done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top