ATCC on TRX-1

Roach112683

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
97
Location
Wilmington, DE
I'm new to Aircraft monitoring. I usually do public safety but I want to put an ATCC band on my TRX-1. How do I go about doing that? Do I need to program it manually or can I program from the library like I can for Public Safety?

Thanks in advance for the help!
 

gcopter1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
757
Location
Winter Park, Florida
I no longer own a TRX radio, but, I'm pretty sure you can. You can enter the info manually if the RR database doesn't have it, which I doubt.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
3,769
Location
Raleigh, NC
I'm new to Aircraft monitoring. I usually do public safety but I want to put an ATCC band on my TRX-1. How do I go about doing that? Do I need to program it manually or can I program from the library like I can for Public Safety?

Thanks in advance for the help!
Looking at the database for the TRX/EZ Scan, unfortunately there is not any of the ATC freqs in there, just the freqs for Wilmington airport. So, you might have to add them manually in EZ Scan. BTW while listening keep an ear out for N2129 and N450WC, two of the planes Joe and Jill Biden are using for the campaign.
 

Attachments

Roach112683

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
97
Location
Wilmington, DE
How do I go about programming it in? Same as adding other Conventional Frequencies?

I'm in Sussex so unless he comes down to his beach house I won't hear it.

And my Scanner doesn't pick up encrypted Channels and I leave my radio at work which is why I have a scanner.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
3,769
Location
Raleigh, NC
How do I go about programming it in? Same as adding other Conventional Frequencies?
Actually, sometimes you have to do some digging to find what you want. Delaware is under ZDC ATC, if you go to the District of Columbia database in EZ Scan and select Agencies and Washing ATC you will see delaware listed and can import them to the TRX.
Screenshot 2020-09-23 21.40.36 (2).png
Yes, they are entered the same as any other conventional channel, and ATC freqs are not encrypted so that won't matter.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
3,769
Location
Raleigh, NC
I was referring to something else. not Aircraft. I was referring to Escort Channels for the VIP above.
I don't know what that is sorry, maybe you should ask in the Delaware forum. Your OP said" I want to put an ATCC band on my TRX-1", sorry if I was confused.
 

Roach112683

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
97
Location
Wilmington, DE
It's ok. nevermind. I got it programmed in but I'm not sure if it's scanning them or not since it's in with the "Conventional Frequencies" and not in the Scanlists that I'm actively scanning.
 
Top