Attic install

Status
Not open for further replies.

_DeS_

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
138
Location
Cape Breton Regional Municipality
Quickcall said:
Wow, that looks great! How well does something like that work from inside the attic?
I was curious to that myself, how well do antennas work in the attic anyway ? It easier for me to axx my attice more so then get on my roof lol...
 

rogbak

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
34
Location
Taylor,MI
It's pointed north towards Detroit, so it should do ok. I'm in a good area and pick up just about everyone around me. I haven't tried it out yet. I had to sneak it in after the electrical inspection. I ran the cable into the cable tv outlet and added 2 bnc hook ups to the wall plate. The other one is for the discone in the other part of the attic. I may hook it up to the scanner tomorrow to see how it works before the next phase of construction. These antennas now days are too expensive to leave exposed to the elements. I will let you all know how it works out. Thanks.
 

ISP911

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
86
Location
APO AE via Bourbon, IN
How about a pic of the discone? I had some RG-6 ran from my attic to the basement (future shack) when my house was built (2-story) but have yet to set up the antenna. Looking for the optimal install amongst the rafters.
 

KC2GVX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
318
Location
Toms River, NJ
I have 4 antennas mounted in my attic, and it works fine. Not as good as outside, but if it's all you can do, it beats the stock antennas.
 

W9WSS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
651
Location
Westmont, DuPage County, IL USA
KC2GVX said:
I have 4 antennas mounted in my attic, and it works fine. Not as good as outside, but if it's all you can do, it beats the stock antennas.
Anyone ever tried one of those "Ventennas?" They look like an extension of PVC pipe you drop right on the soil stack or sewer vent pipe on the roof. They make them for scanning, and seperate models for VHF and UHF transmit capabilities.

Check it out: www.ventenna.com
 
Last edited:

car2back

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
3,021
Location
Tulsa, OK
K9WSS said:
Anyone ever tried one of those "Ventennas?" They look like an extension of PVC pipe you drop right on the soil stack or sewer vent pipe on the roof. They make them for scanning, and seperate models for VHF and UHF transmit capabilities.

Check it out: www.ventenna.com
I bet it's just a J pole antenna inside a PVC pipe.... it's easy to make yourself with that flat TV coax an dsome other stuff that you'd have lying around the house!
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,746
Location
San Antonio, TX
The problem with mounting antennas in my attic is that the plywood that they used to cover the roof is insulated with this foam board that has aluminum foil all over the bottom of it, effectively making my attic a faraday cage!

I ended up putting the discone on the chimeny, behind it actually, so that folks in the back can't see it because the chimney blocks it, and folks in the front can't see it because the roof blocks it... it is tucked nice an tight back there... works perfectly.

-Lb
 
Last edited:

W9WSS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
651
Location
Westmont, DuPage County, IL USA
blantonl said:
The problem with mounting antennas in my attic is that the plywood that they used to cover the roof is insulated with this foam board that has aluminum foil all over the bottom of it, effectively making my attic a faraday cage!

I ended up putting the discone on the chimeny, behind it actually, so that folks in the back can't see it because the chimney blocks it, and folks in the front can't see it because the roof blocks it... it is tucked nice an tight back there... works perfectly.-Lb
Then, if you're not already using a Stridsberg multi-coupler, I imagine that you have several scanners or even ham radio hooked up to that one antenna using T-connectors. However, that could cost loss, and scanners or receivers can act against one another. I love my Stridsbergs; Although I may have already posted this, I also had to purchase PAR notch filters to rid my VHF receivers of that awful non-stop ringing from paging transmitters that plagues most of us around here.
 
Last edited:

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,746
Location
San Antonio, TX
Will,

I use an 8 port Stridsberg Multicoupler with an FM Trap.

I'll have to get some pics of my shack up soon.... but as pcrguy said in an earlier thread, I've got to clean it up first... ;-)
 

bear105

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
357
What a good thread of info! I'm in a townhouse and am always on the lookout for antenna ideas that beat my setup as HOA rules don't allow anything visible. I'm currently using a dipole hanging off the backside of my house on the second floor. The townhouse does not seem to block the signals from that direction. But the biggest difference in quality came when I grounded it. I started bring in signals that were previously uncopiable.

Thanks for all the good ideas....
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
5,399
Location
Ohio
Quickcall said:
Wow, that looks great! How well does something like that work from inside the attic?
I have an attic full of antennas from HF all the way up to 900 MHz. They work just fine. There is probably a slight bit of attenuation, but I can still hear all kinds of VHF/UHF stuff for 50+ miles in any direction, and I've worked all over the world on HF. I'm not even on a hill......

Tom WA8PYR
 

W9WSS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
651
Location
Westmont, DuPage County, IL USA
bear105 said:
What a good thread of info! I'm in a townhouse and am always on the lookout for antenna ideas that beat my setup as HOA rules don't allow anything visible. I'm currently using a dipole hanging off the backside of my house on the second floor. The townhouse does not seem to block the signals from that direction. But the biggest difference in quality came when I grounded it. I started bring in signals that were previously uncopiable.

Thanks for all the good ideas....
One of my recommendations for "getting permission" to erect antennas where you normally wouldn't, is to invoke "I am a ham radio / communications specialist" and I need to monitor several frequencies for Homeland Security. It might work, and it's true! Although there may be covenants and prohibitions regarding ANY ancillary objects to a structure where you reside, you might get a sympathetic board member who understands the importance of radios and communications in today's hectic lifestyle!

Just a thought...
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,205
K9WSS said:
"I am a ham radio / communications specialist" and I need to monitor several frequencies for Homeland Security.
Ham Radio operators should not give the impression that they are a member of a government security agency when they aren't. Ham radio is a hobby that assists during times of disaster. He shouldn't be advised to try to make us something that were not cause 5 minutes on the internet any member of the HOA would know the truth.
 
Last edited:

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,205
wa8pyr said:
I have an attic full of antennas from HF all the way up to 900 MHz. They work just fine. There is probably a slight bit of attenuation, but I can still hear all kinds of VHF/UHF stuff for 50+ miles in any direction, and I've worked all over the world on HF. I'm not even on a hill......
Tom WA8PYR
Ditto, I installed 3 runs of RG214 before the drywall went up between my attic and radio room that is on the 1st floor of my 2 story home. Hind sight tells me that I should of installed more, so in the end I put in some splitter/combiners to make the most of the 3 cables.

I also have an outside tower at about 20' that holds my sat dish and dual band antenna, but I still have access work to do to clean that up to make the cable install a little neater.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top