HP-2: Audio Garbled

Status
Not open for further replies.

MississippiPI

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
585
Location
All over the Great State of Mississippi
I purchased the extreme upgrade for my HP-2. I have noticed lately that the audio is real garbled. I don't know if it has anything to do with that or not, a friend of mine is having the same problem with his here in the same area. Any ideas? I did call uniden, they weren't any help.


Thanks and be safe
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
What specific channels? Garbled could mean that your local agency has encrypted. Or, it could mean reception conditions have changed, affecting receive quality (which routinely occurs to people who live at a reception fringe area in the spring, when foliage increases and attenuates the signal).
 

MississippiPI

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
585
Location
All over the Great State of Mississippi
HP-2 Update

No, they aren't encrytpted. The problem it seems began when I updated to the extreme. It was clear over in LA when I was there--a friend has HP-2 here as well and his is doing the same thing. JPD, Hinds SO, etc here on MSWIN
 

ansky

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
1,130
Location
NYC Metro
Are you by any chance listening to a digital simulcast system? I have one of these in my area and the audio is always garbled because the HP-2 simply does not handle this type of system well.
 

Mojo2017

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
19
Location
ARKANSAS
On HP 1&2 you might try to set the modulation setting on a -1,-2 or -3 if the frequency you are monitoring is garbled! That can be done on the menu by these steps. MENU/ADVANCED MENU/ADVANCED OPTION/EDIT FAVORITES LIST/CLICK ON LIST YOU WANT TO EDIT-/AWIN/EDIT SITE/EDIT DEPARTMENT/CLICK CHOSEN DEPARTMENT TO EDIT/EDIT CHANNEL/VOLUME OFFSET. THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS ARE AVAILABLE: -1,-2,-3, 1-2-3…when you finish click LISTEN!
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,288
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
That does nothing more than raise or lower the volume setting for that TG or channel.

Handy for transmissions that are always low volume - but will do nothing for the issue.


On HP 1&2 you might try to set the modulation setting on a -1,-2 or -3 if the frequency you are monitoring is garbled! That can be done on the menu by these steps. MENU/ADVANCED MENU/ADVANCED OPTION/EDIT FAVORITES LIST/CLICK ON LIST YOU WANT TO EDIT-/AWIN/EDIT SITE/EDIT DEPARTMENT/CLICK CHOSEN DEPARTMENT TO EDIT/EDIT CHANNEL/VOLUME OFFSET. THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS ARE AVAILABLE: -1,-2,-3, 1-2-3…when you finish click LISTEN!
 

alphaacres

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
159
Location
Oswego, New York
HP1 and HP2 digital audio Tip

Is your digital audio breaking up at times..... mine was.If your audio AGC is on turn it off should fix the problem if it was on.

reason is that double-AGC will "fight each other".
If the system has AGC (and most trunked systems do), the system will act on any level differences.
Now, if the scanner also acts on the level and the system acts on the level, it will be over-compensated.
Often, the result is audio that sounds like it's under water and nearly unintelligible.
I had this issue on the PRO-96 and turning off the scanner AGC and just relying on the system AGC make the audio about 1000% better.


http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-tavern/329406-hp1-hp2-tip.html
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
4,886
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Uniden doesn't have that problem with "double-AGC" as it's AGC are much more intelligent and advanced.

The OPs problem sounds more like a digital bit error garble, not an audio mumble.

/Ubbe
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top