B796D Talkgroups Appearing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
23
Hello Everyone!
I've noticed that after programming my 796D, talkgroup IDs have automatically started appearing in the ID Lists... they havent been overwriting the ones I programmed in, but filling in empty spaces where I have nothing programmed in. This is after using ProScan to upload the data onto the scanner.

The other funny thing I noticed, even after I download the bank ID List, delete the unwanted IDs and upload the clean list back to the scanner, they're still actually on the scanner as if I hadn't deleted them in the first place.

Anyone know why this is happening to me?

Thanks!!!
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Sorry, I do not have a Uniden, maybe someone else can tell or maybe it is the manual
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,644
Location
Eastern MA
Make sure that you are in ID Scan mode, not ID Search Mode. The 796D will show the IDs with alphatags of TGs that you have programmed in. It will show the IDs without alphatags for "new" IDs. It's a fairly easy mistake to make.
 

captclint

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
2,449
Location
Mountaintop, PA
Hello Everyone!
I've noticed that after programming my 796D, talkgroup IDs have automatically started appearing in the ID Lists... they havent been overwriting the ones I programmed in, but filling in empty spaces where I have nothing programmed in. This is after using ProScan to upload the data onto the scanner.
I've had the 796 for several years, and monitor TRS in the IDsearch mode most of the time. However, I have done ID scan, and NEVER had TGID's entered into the scanner's memory. I can't imagine how that could be done without your doing a manual add each time you saw an ID in the IDsearch mode. I don't use proscan, but my software(ARC) wipes out all TGID's before it up loads. this almost sounds like a software problem. Might try asking in the software group.
 

DJ88

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Messages
2,070
Location
Brick Twp., New Jersey
When those talk groups appear, the ones you have not programmed, do you see an ID List location to the left of the actual talk group number at the top of the display?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
23
Yes, I do... and its odd enough that they'll assign themselves different numbers within the ID List... some will fall at 1-1-3,4,5,6 and there will be a large gap, with others appearing at 1-2-1....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top