• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Back up power- MSR 2000

Status
Not open for further replies.

wd8dk

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
49
Location
East Palestine, OH
Question, I have 5 batteries to be hooked in parallel, for back up power. Is there any specific way to correctly feed the MSR with them so they will float charge? Thanks for any input.
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,789
Location
Sonoma, CA
If you have a battery revert power supply you simply hook them to the battery connector. If you do not have a revert supply, it's a kludge and I wouldn't recommend it. Maybe a beefy UPS?
 

WA0CBW

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,448
Location
Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
I agree with ramal121. If you look at the MSR power supply you will see it supplies a high current 13.1 to 16.3 volt at 2 to 36 amp. It also supplies 9.6 volt at up to1.1 amp. It also supplies a 13.9 to 14.1 volt at up to 1.16 amps. It is hard to get these voltages from a single 12 volt battery supply.
BB
 

wd8dk

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
49
Location
East Palestine, OH
I agree with ramal121. If you look at the MSR power supply you will see it supplies a high current 13.1 to 16.3 volt at 2 to 36 amp. It also supplies 9.6 volt at up to1.1 amp. It also supplies a 13.9 to 14.1 volt at up to 1.16 amps. It is hard to get these voltages from a single 12 volt battery supply.
BB
So it will draw close to 40 amp max at intervals, the batteries are able to sustain that for a period. The uncertainty I have is how to know the A/C transformer supply is capable of "floating charge". Or will an external "battery tender" be needed? I know the old Micors had that capability.
 

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
6,804
Location
Central Indiana
Some of the MSR-2000 power supplies had provisions for battery back-up, but not all of them.

On RepeaterBuilder.com, there are Motorola manuals for both the standard power supply and the battery back-up power supply. Those manuals may help you determine which PS you have and how to connect your battery.
 

wd8dk

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
49
Location
East Palestine, OH
Update; got a used APC 1300 from ebay. connected two of the batteries in series and problem solved.

The MSR did not have the charging/battery option installed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top