Baltimore city FD 154.145

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc4jgc

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
1,424
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Loud buzzing sound like maybe power supply filtering has gone bad. Has this been going on for a while? First time back in the area in 2+ years. I'm waiting to get loaded near Curtis Bay near Ft. Smallwood Rd.
 

dpcain

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,399
Location
MD
Someone said it was a phone line issue a while back.
 

Spleen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
850
Location
Baltimore, MD
Someone said it was a phone line issue a while back.
That's been going on intermittently for years. I was forced to lock it out of the RR feed I provide. It even defeats the CTCSS squelch on my PRO-106.
 

ocguard

Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
1,252
Location
PA/MD
That's been going on intermittently for years. I was forced to lock it out of the RR feed I provide. It even defeats the CTCSS squelch on my PRO-106.
Do you have it set to NFM? It does mute on our base station but usually with a half-second delay. Before they upgraded our base stations to NFM, it would sometimes override the CTCSS.

Also, I'm told it's co-channel from channel 2 (154.4075mhz) on Cecil County's EDACS, which would explain its intermittency as the CC rotates.
 

Spleen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
850
Location
Baltimore, MD
I actually thought it was a problem with the PRO-2053 I use for the Broadcastify feed, but it turned out to be a problem with the PRO-106 as well. The PRO-2053 doesn't have CTCSS filtering anyway, so I just blamed it on intermod or selectivity at the time. Pretty sure I'm not picking up Cecil County txmissions, and if someone had a way around it and could host a feed I have no problem passing the torch...

Do you have it set to NFM? It does mute on our base station but usually with a half-second delay. Before they upgraded our base stations to NFM, it would sometimes override the CTCSS.

Also, I'm told it's co-channel from channel 2 (154.4075mhz) on Cecil County's EDACS, which would explain its intermittency as the CC rotates.
 

Spleen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
850
Location
Baltimore, MD
If I'm picking up Cecil's EDACS in mid-town Baltimore with a handheld with a rubber ducky antenna, they must be cooking birds in mid-flight at their transmit site.

Changed it to NFM on the PRO-106, no go. Unfortunately, the old 2053 I use to supply the Fire/EMS feed doesn't even have NFM capability anyway.


Do you have it set to NFM? It does mute on our base station but usually with a half-second delay. Before they upgraded our base stations to NFM, it would sometimes override the CTCSS.

Also, I'm told it's co-channel from channel 2 (154.4075mhz) on Cecil County's EDACS, which would explain its intermittency as the CC rotates.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
If I'm picking up Cecil's EDACS in mid-town Baltimore with a handheld with a rubber ducky antenna, they must be cooking birds in mid-flight at their transmit site.

Changed it to NFM on the PRO-106, no go. Unfortunately, the old 2053 I use to supply the Fire/EMS feed doesn't even have NFM capability anyway.
I've picked up Cecil's EDACS system on Route 97 in Millersville (south of Baltimore) using a mag mounted RS 800 duck on the roof of my truck.
 

Spleen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
850
Location
Baltimore, MD
These are using a USB RTL-SDR with a discone, about 40 feet AGL. One is with 0db gain, the other is about 20db gain. I just went to 154.4075, and had to crank the gain past 20db to even recognize that it was a EDACS transmission. The pictured signal is 80ish khz wide, by the way.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

ocguard

Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
1,252
Location
PA/MD
I misread, thought the trouble frequency was the dispatch channel 154.415, which is closely adjacent to the Cecil freq, and does regularly bleed through our radios when the mic is off-hook (PL disabled).

I'll set our base station to .145 later this week and see if I hear anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top