• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Baltimore Trunk Locking Up

Status
Not open for further replies.

doctordave

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
1,561
mlevin said:
No, it's not the dispatcher holding the freq. I've experienced the same problem wih my Pro 96 and always thought it was a problem with my scanner. Is there a way to change the digital end code on the 96 or do I just have to put up with it?
Mo, I think you are stuck. I recall the Uniden dig end code feature being such a big deal because it was not available in the 96/2096.
 

doctordave

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
1,561
Mo,

If you don't get a response here, you might inquire on the DE board, as there are a few RR members in DE with GRE radios...and since repeater sticks are so common with the DE system, you'll likely get a clear idea of the the GREs handle such issues.
 

Spleen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
850
Location
Baltimore, MD
I've noticed this happening on the PRO-96 for weeks now....I'll be listening to the feed at work and have minutes of silence for no apparent reason....I turn the audio on at home and it may act normal for an hour or so.....but the silent periods still turn up. Apparently this is not model-specific.....?
 

don333

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
145
Mo, I have a GRE PSR-500 nad a 600. I dumped my 396 and 996 and have experienced none of the problems I had with the Unidens. I have found the GRE products to be superior and have no regrets. I had a decoder problem with the 500 and returned it to GRE. They didn't even suggest that they would repair it, but sent me a "new" radio so I would, also, say that their customer service is excellent. Just adding my $.02.

Don
BNN 333
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
1,082
Location
Six Feet Under
Hello,

For those who use GRE Model Scanners, enable ATT on the PSR series, and attenuate the hanging Voice Channel on the PRO series. This may keep the units Trunking. Digital End Code Detection can be enabled on the Uniden BCD series.

The PSR series have a MOT End Tone setting which can be lowered using the Expert settings.

HTHs

73

Dave AKA The Tripzter
 

Spleen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
850
Location
Baltimore, MD
Okay...I knocked the ID Delay down to 1 second, and it seems the silent spots are gone....hmmmmm...
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
3,112
Location
Annapolis
Uniden is about to release new firmware for 396/996 that addresses some of these issues. Should be out very soon, and by the end of March at the latest.

CA
Annapolis
 

Metro174

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
207
Location
Maryland
I had the problem as well especially in Canton. Past few days it seems to have stopped and become normal again.
 

1421

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
6
Baltimore City TRS "hold"

TinEar said:
I sort of understood their rationale Dave although I think it was based on a faulty understanding of the way a trunked system works.. I'd hear it come from both the dispatcher and/or an officer on the scene of a "hot" situation such as during an arrest or an "officer needs assistance" call. The officer would tell the dispatcher to "hold the freq," the dispatcher would repeat it and you'd just get dead silence until someone had something to say but the talkgroup/frequency would not be released. They might have been under the mistaken impression that they wouldn't have an available freq for the next transmission if they didn't "reserve" it. Because they were in a dangerous situation, they wanted to make sure they would be heard by the dispatcher. As mentioned earlier, I haven't been listening to the City recently so don't know if they're still doing this but it's worth considering rather than assuming the radio is faulty.
Tin Ear-
When they are asking the Dispatcher to "Hold" the frequency or channel, they are asking all non involved units to hold radio traffic until the situation is clear. It is equivalent to a "10-3" or "stop transmitting" in other agencies. On some radio systems, if the "emergency button" is depressed by the officer, you will hear open carrier on that Talkgroup until it is reset by that individual radio or the Dispatcher clears it. On a busy 3-11 shift, using out-dated low-bid radio equipment that our government buys, you may just need that frequency held open to get that transmission through. Someone must have reminded the Motorola engineers along the way that in the real world, you are not always standing perfectly still with both hands free and have a full 2 seconds to key the mic, wait for the central controller to find a frequency before screaming for help.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,979
Location
Bowie, Md.
doctordave said:
Mike,

If I recall correctly, the "digital end code" option was added to the 396 via one of the prior firmware updates. The same procedure (above) applies to the 996....and offhand, I think the original 996 firmware included this feature (not positive on this). At any rate, if it's missing in the so-called "hidden menu" of any given 396/996, then it certainly can be made available by simply applying the latest exisiting firmware updates.

This feature has proven to be a real charm for those of us who routinely monitor the DE 800 system, where repeater hangups are common.
I've added it to the wiki - now the USD64 question - which firmware update added the digital end code option? I know that they are cumulative in nature, so if you don't have it now, when the next one is released, you should get it - but this would be handy to know

73 Mike
 

dcr_inc

Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
564
Location
Delta, Pa
On a Moto system a channel will "hang" if there is noise or signal on the input frequency. This could be skip or intermod.

Balto Co had this happening when they turned their system up years ago, Ended up being a system in NJ on the direct opposite system offset (tx / rx reversed).
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,979
Location
Bowie, Md.
GRRR...868.30 is holding the SE district Baltimore city talkgroup....I gotta apply the dig end code fix, if I have that option in this firmware version... 73 Mike
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top