• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Baofeng Baofeng UV-5r scan resume time

ltginrage

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
258
Location
North Central, Illinois
I've had this UV-5r for about 3 months now. The most annoying feature on it is the scan resume time. Is there a way to change it to a few seconds after the last transmission?
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,220
Location
Michigan
No, and even more expensive HTs like Icom and Yaesu don't have that feature. Ham HTs are not scanners, are usually very slow, and lack the flexibility of a true scanner.
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,012
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
Scan resume options are set from Menu 18 SC-REV.
TO - Timeout. Resumes scanning after about 6 seconds even if a transmission is still occurring.
CO - Carrier operated. Resumes scanning about 6 seconds after a transmission stops.
SE - Search. Stops on a transmission and stays there until you manually start scanning again.

There are no other options. There is no way to change them. There is no way to change the delay time.
 

eorange

Secret Agent Man
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
2,481
Location
Cleveland, OH
My Yaesu VX-3R has an adjustable scan resume time from 2 to 10 seconds, which is to say that likely all Yaesu HTs have it. My former VX-8R had almost the same firmware.
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,220
Location
Michigan
I have or had at least 10 Yaesu HTs going back to the FNB-17, and none had the selections like a true scanner. Those mentioned by nd5y are the most common in HT radios.
 

eorange

Secret Agent Man
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
2,481
Location
Cleveland, OH
All I'm saying is that most Yaesu HTs have varying scan resume times, depending on the model. So they do have that feature.
 

kc5uta

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
72
Location
Shiner Tx.
I've had this UV-5r for about 3 months now. The most annoying feature on it is the scan resume time. Is there a way to change it to a few seconds after the last transmission?
unfortunately I don't think so. They are not the most user friendly. BUT....... CHIRP is a great program to use to to "play" with the settings, (in case I am wrong) mainly due to the fact that you have to first get a "image" of the radio BEFORE you can program it. Save the original image, and name it accordingly for archival purposes. That way you can play around with relative impunity with the settings, if you FUBAR the setup into non functional status, you can always reload the working image which will overwrite the entire system, setting it back to normal. Good luck!
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,012
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
You can't change the scan resume or delay time on a UV-5R. For those settings CHIRP is no different than the radio menus.
 
Top