• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Baofeng UV-5RE newbie here

Status
Not open for further replies.

SGTADDY

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
7
I'm a complete newbie to any radio's but I'm slowly learning. I have figured out how to program freq's into it without the USB cable, but one thing I have notice is that all I can program in is the ones that end in

.125
.150
.175
.200
.225

now the question I have is how can I program in other numbers instead of the ones that end like that.

say a freq that I want to program in is
.160 and not have it go to .150 how do I do that and also how do I program in something like this.
.1675

Thank you,

John Addy

Sgt / USMC
2000-2006

“Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don't have that problem.”
― Ronald Reagan
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,205
RTFM [aka read the factory manual]. What band/frequency are the first numbers as there are different STEPS depending on the band. RTFM about steps. AKA 2.5, 5, 8.33, 10, 12.5, etc.. I have great fear in newbies, nobees picking up these cheap multi transmit frequencies and interfering with licensed users. I see USMC so must be American. Are you trying to program in a trunking system which will not work with these cheapos. Radios are like vehicles, read the manual first or the numerous links on these numerous threads. And VHF and UHF have different steps and new narrow band frequencies. So the the numbers before the decimal point will tell if you are using correct step.
 

SGTADDY

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
7
So what if I'm a newbie. I'm trying to learn. Yes I'm a American. This type of freq is what I'm talking about.

154.130 that is the freq for our fire departments. My children's school stuff like that. All I can seem to get programmed in is 154.125 or 154.150 I haven't figured out how to do anything other then .25, .50, .75

Thank you,

John Addy

Sgt / USMC
2000-2006

“Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don't have that problem.”
― Ronald Reagan
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,205
So, if not licensed to transmit, please insure the input frequency is left out and the power is dropped to the lowest power setting. As I stated above, set the STEP to 5. If you don't know how to do this, probably shouldn't be handling a transceiver. But STEP is explained in the FM and on links provided here. What you really did is a scanner not a transceiver.
 

SGTADDY

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
7
I'm using it as a two way radio also....and I want to get licensed too....but that still isn't telling me how to set it up so I can program other freq's without them ending in .25, .50, .75
 

SGTADDY

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
7
Ok one last question how to do I program in a freq that has 4 number behind the decimal point
 

SGTADDY

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
7
Now one last question that I haven't figured out yet is how do I program a freq like this into it

460.5125
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
8,785
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
On VHF (136-174 MHz) set the step (menu 1) to 2.5K or 5.0K
On UHF (400-520 MHz) set the step (menu 1) to 12.5K
You will have to set each band separately.
If there are more than three digits after the decimal point you have to use the up/down (^/v) arrows to set the last digits.
Enter 4 6 0 5 1 2 ^
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top