• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Baofeng UV5r Can only hear Rx in Menu?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AShrader

Newbie
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
5
Location
Knoxville, TN
So I have a Baofeng UV5r that I bought a few days ago. I programmed it via CHIRP so I could listen to the local repeater traffic (I dont have my ticket, yet.) I've noticed something strange, and it is not consistent. When I am listening to the local repeater traffic, I seem to often only be able to listen when I've entered menu. Hitting the monitor key or setting the squelch to 0 will just inundate me with static (which is what I expect). But even then I can enter the menu and I'll hear the repeater clear as day. It doesn't matter if I am in channel mode with the tone from repeaterbook programmed, or if I just dial it in on VFO and leave the tones alone. I get the same result.

Did CHIRP foul up my HT, or is there some other issue that could be causing this. I've tried it in different areas both at home and in the neighborhood and the results are the same. When my radio is in its normal standby mode, or if I hit monitor I get dead air. I only seem to be able to listen while my radio is in menu mode, and only then if I don't push anything once there.
 

KK4TTR

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
102
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
That doesn't sound right, at all!

Have you taken the battery out? I would look up how to factory reset and start there. Try programming a station in manually.

Then, when you download the current image in Chirp, you'll have a starting point for your other stations.

G/L and 73,
 

KC4RAF

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
1,599
Location
Davenport,Fl.- home to me and the gators and the s
To reset, go to menu and punch in "40", follow instruction.
To get back to English language, punch in "14" and select Engl.
I've used Chirp for nearly 2 years and never came across any thing like you experienced.
Chirp doesn't do any thing until the operator types in what he needs.
You could go to the Chirp website and look around or ask questions.
Jim is a member here at RR and may see your post and respond. I don't remember his nickname.
HTH
 

AShrader

Newbie
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
5
Location
Knoxville, TN
Not sure if the other one posted.

I reloaded the factory image and my channels, as well is disabling Tx. I put the other battery in. This morning, I was able to listen fine at my kitchen table. I'm going to try it again tonight, and see how it performs. Maybe take it for a walk around the block to check too. Hopefully it was just some form of operator error. Frustrating because I couldn't listen in to last night's discussion on solar charging rigs.
 

FKimble

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
282
Location
Newnan, GA
For listening only, turn off all tones, ctcss etc. These are only used to access the repeaters to enable your transmissions to be allowed thru the repeater. Some repeaters do not transmit a tone, so if you have tone decode enables you will never hear them.

Frank KK4YTM
 

ChrisABQ

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
518
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Let me ask you this? Did you download your IMG file from the radio FIRST and then make changes, save and upload that file to the radio?

This is the only way you can successfully program the radio.
 

AShrader

Newbie
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
5
Location
Knoxville, TN
I have tried it with both tones on and off.

Yes, I made a factory image of the settings before I did anything. I experienced the same issues with those.

Thanks for the reply y'all! Like I said, I'm going to test it this evening, but I haven't had an issue all day. I will again at/during the local field say tomorrow too. Thanks!
 

Rred

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
830
AS-
Welcome to ham radio. I think you've just found out "those damned tones" are the most common problem that anyone has with repeaters. There are multiple confusing names for what often are or aren't the same tones and very few sources make it clear what they want. So there's always someone who can't hear, or can't work the repeater, and it always seems to be "those damned tones".
On the bright side, if you read up in the radio manual and the CHIRP instructions (because CHIRP sometimes uses oddball phrasing and menus as well) and get the hang of all the "tones" options, you'll be a better than average ham from day one.

In some modes, some radios (including the BaoFeng's) automatically disable tones, and that can allow them to receive broadcasts that would otherwise get screened out. So, no big mystery as to why you can only hear a station in some modes.
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
8,929
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
When I am listening to the local repeater traffic, I seem to often only be able to listen when I've entered menu.
A few years ago some firmware versions had a bug where the receiver was muted unless you turn off the keypad beep (Menu 8). There was no way to fix it.
This might be a new firmware bug.
 

michaelshaw05

Newbie
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
1
Seems to be working great tonight. Thank you for all the great advice, it seems to have taken care of the problem!
Hi there,

Could you please describe exactly what you did to fix this issue? I have the same problem on two Baofeng radios. It is irritating to say the least.

I appreciate your help!

Michael

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk
 

jengum

Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
2
Me too

I'm also interested in hearing what you did to solve the problem. I had the same issue last night. Practicing report transmissions, one rx'd clearly. I could only hear the second after pressing 'Menu'. I have a Baofeng bf-f9 v2+.

Thanks,
Jesse
KI7RQE
 

AShrader

Newbie
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
5
Location
Knoxville, TN
I simply flashed it back to factory defaults and reporgrammed it. All I can think of is that I fouled something when I made my initial program. The radio works great now, and I've had no issue with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top