BC 346XT-Frustration headache and more...

Status
Not open for further replies.

set41249

Let me preface this post with a little background. I worked in the two-way radio business for nearley 30 years. I thouroughly understand trunking and have programmed both Harris (formerly M/A Com and Motorola products. That said this beast is junk. First off, NO PRINTABLE MANUAL either on the CD or the Uniden website. While I can understand omitting a printed manual saves trees, You SHOULD be able to print one if that's what you need. I have searched the Uniden website and the CD for a printable version, and it is NOWHERE to be found. The'printable version' link takes you to another .zip file which is nothing more than a bunch of hyperlinks. NO .pdf!

Also, the programming and operation of this radio is WAY too complex for the average person to grasp. I have figured it out, but why does it take MULTIPLE KEYSTROKES to listen to NOAA for just one example? GRE and Radio shack use a MUCH simpler method of operation and programming. Uniden should get with the program and make things simpler rather than difficult.

This will be the LAST Uniden product that I buy!

gmclam

Premium Subscriber
Did you look in the Wiki section here for information on that radio? I know I have found and downloaded manuals for that radio in the past, and programmed them for people.

As the saying goes; if you want features, buy Uniden. If you want performance, buy GRE. Many people like the Unidens because they can be controlled by PC software. I wish the analog GREs could be PC controlled, the opposite of your complaint.