BC396T, now with "Enemy Zeroize Memory"

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 15, 2000
Messages
233
Reaction score
0
"When your scanner is in danger of enemy capture, the BCD396T zeroize memory feature deletes all preprogrammed data by holding down the 2, 9 and hold keys while turning the scanner on. Erasing memory deprives the opposition of sensitive programmed frequency and talk group designator information which could be used for intelligence purposes. A useful feature for helping you win the global struggle against violent extremism."

LOL!
 

BadRambo

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
Key Tricks

Is that the correct three keys for memory clear? I guess it takes out the preprogrammed counties too? But those should be resotrable with another key trick, I have heard?

Do you know? == Thanks ---
 

MarkEagleUSA

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
677
Reaction score
1
Location
Connecticut
BadRambo said:
But those should be resotrable with another key trick, I have heard?
Resetting the scanner will delete ALL programming and it is NOT restorable except via software (UASD, ARC396, etc), assuming you save the configuration first.
 

BadRambo

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
MarkEagleUSA said:
Resetting the scanner will delete ALL programming and it is NOT restorable except via software (UASD, ARC396, etc), assuming you save the configuration first.

OK, so that config should be stored prior to any "clean out"...good point to know. I will have to load the programming software when the 396T arrives :)

Thanks !!!
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
12,186
Reaction score
4,568
Location
Dallas, TX
BadRambo said:
Is that the correct three keys for memory clear? I guess it takes out the preprogrammed counties too? But those should be resotrable with another key trick, I have heard?

Do you know? == Thanks ---

This was from an post several months ago. Just tried on on my 396, & lo & behold it worked. Held down the "Hold", "2", & "9" key while it gave a 'clearing memory' message. Then I got a "Restore?" prompt. Answering 'yes' with the enter key reloaded the preset systems, which I had deleted long ago.
 

BadRambo

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2005
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
That's What I had Heard!!!

Howdy Hiegtx ----

I had heard some comment to that effect a while back, that you actually got the option to restore the factory pre-programmed data when you cleared it...why in the heck don't they put that in the manual?? Good news. Regardless I am still going to store my baseline configuration when I receive the unit...at least I will always have it to work on.

Looks like the 1.09 flash does wonders for the P25 receive (AGC) issues. That is also good news. Just too powerful of a unit to not have that right.

Thanks Again for the heads up --- BR :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top