BCD325P2 - Worked one time

ScottSlezak

They just started a P25e here: Subcategory: Bell County Cities/Middlesboro (Bell County)
All i want to hear is the 151.0700, I programmed that in the scanner under the conventional and the P25. 1 time it picked up the P25 and talked clear showing the ID# using the ID search scan. And it tries to talk on the conventional one but only hear a few words when it kicks in and out. I read many threads here, watched many videos on how to, the weather, priority and close call is off and only that frequency number programed in. Does the radio have a bad antenna is it simulcast, i do not know what is wrong or even if this scanner will work in that area. I am very new to this digital and no i do not use a software i have been hand programming it. Thank you for any info. I have upgraded the scanner to its newest version and also reset it to factory settings, the only thing i have not done yet is throw it on the ground...lol

Last edited:

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
Welcome to the RR forums; you are aware that P25e (small "e" suffix) indicates partial encryption, correct? Nonetheless it's a bit unusual that the same agency would still carry conventional traffic on the same exact frequency as the P25 traffic. One would assume that when a P25 unit would key up that it would override any analog traffic on the same frequency. You're certain you're not hearing a different agency on analog?

Does the radio have a bad antenna
A good test for this would be to tune to your local NOAA weather frequency. Does it too cut in and out?

fredva

Feed Provider
To prevent confusion, I'd recommend referring to the two types of transmissions as P25 (or "digital") and analog. Both the P25 and the analog are on what is called a conventional radio system, which means that specific frequencies are assigned for specific purposes (in this case, PD dispatch).

For the analog side, did you program in the PL tone of 77.0?

ScottSlezak