BCD396T Not Receiving

Status
Not open for further replies.

voyager9

Hey All,
I've had a 396T since December. I used ARC396 to set it up and everything was working wonderfully. It was receiving my local FD's conventional and trunked system very well.

Some time in the last few days this just stopped. I no longer receive anything on any channels.
I've tried several antennas.
I've even lowered the squelch down all the way while holding on a conventional channel I know was transmitting.
When I manually turn to a talkgroup on the trunked system I see "Finding CtrlChan".

I'm not an expert, but it seems as though its not receiving anything, can anyone out there recommend anything to check?

Thanks!

MysticalOS

Heh maybe yours has same problem as mine, or that TRS has gone to a different CC channel freq, double check that system for new data, or fcc website for an updated license for it. Try picking up NOAA on WX operation or FM radio just as a controled test to see if scanner is capible of receiving at all instead of just testing one system...

voyager9

I just tried WX, no go.. it just kept scanning 161-163'ish freq.
I had also had it, and another scanner both listening on a conventional freq. The old scanner picked up stuff, the 396 didn't.. even with the squelch at 0.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
voyager9 said:
I just tried WX, no go.. it just kept scanning 161-163'ish freq.
I had also had it, and another scanner both listening on a conventional freq. The old scanner picked up stuff, the 396 didn't.. even with the squelch at 0.
If it's no longer receiving anything on frequencies that had been working, including weather, that would tend rule out a programming issue.

Has it been dropped? Anything that would have caused a loose or broken internal connection?
Tried a different antenna, like from the scanner (presumably handheld) that does work?