BCD436HP: Bcd436hp Is there anyway that I can have the batteries not charge ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
12,011
Location
VA
The batteries will never charge when it is on, only when it is off. And when it is off you have to manually tell it to charge.
 

joeuser

The Wretched
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
1,614
Location
North Central Kansas
Just press the NO button when it asks you if you want to charge the batteries. If it doesn't ask you if you want to charge the batteries, its not.



Welcome to the USA
 

joeuser

The Wretched
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
1,614
Location
North Central Kansas
Wait, I think I broke the code!



Just because the batteries are in your scanner doesn't mean they are charging. You must tell it to charge them when & only when the unit is off
 

kb8rvp

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2003
Messages
552
Location
Michigan
BCD436HP Bcd436hp Is there anyway that I can have the batteries not charge?

Not sure if you picked up on what the others were saying or not. When you have the scanner turned off and you plug in the power it shows on the screen:

Battery Charge
Start Charging?
Yes="E" / No="."

So it is asking you if you want to charge the batteries. If the scanner is on it will never charge the batteries as it only charges them when the scanner is turned off if you select yes, if you say no it won't. If you plug in the power when the scanner is on it will not charge the batteries it will just power the scanner. It will ask if you want to Select USB mode and you can press no if you just want to scan.When you turn off the scanner with the power plugged in it will then ask if you want to charge the batteries yes or no you can just say no and it won't charge.

Mike
 

NWI_Scanner_Guy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
2,247
Location
Hammond, IN
It'd be a whole lot easier if scanner manufacturers would just leave out the whole 'charge the batteries in the radio' deal. Kind of like the BC346XTC but extended to all models / brands.

:)
 

CaptWill

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
19
Location
Slower Lower Delaware
Well I don't have a Home Patrol, but if/when I do buy one, I hope they improve the charging system such that the batteries will charge if they are below a preset(adjustable) threshold, any time the scanner is plugged in, and whether on or off. I do not believe that the battery cover and batteries should be removed, installed, removed, installed so many times, over the life of the scanner.

I have a Radio Shack Pro-96 and just got a Pro106, and the batteries charge in the radio, as they should. I have never had to remove them from the scanner for years.
 

N9NRA

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
850
powering the scanner from AC, and a curious question re, the "serial mode".

Not sure if you picked up on what the others were saying or not. When you have the scanner turned off and you plug in the power it shows on the screen:

Battery Charge
Start Charging?
Yes="E" / No="."

So it is asking you if you want to charge the batteries. If the scanner is on it will never charge the batteries as it only charges them when the scanner is turned off if you select yes, if you say no it won't. If you plug in the power when the scanner is on it will not charge the batteries it will just power the scanner. It will ask if you want to Select USB mode and you can press no if you just want to scan.When you turn off the scanner with the power plugged in it will then ask if you want to charge the batteries yes or no you can just say no and it won't charge.

Mike
I`ve been wondering about this too, if i read this right, if i want to just power the scanner off the AC, i just plug it in and when it asks if i want to go into USB mode (which my `436HP does when i plug it in) i press the . NO key and it`ll scan? Also a kinda curious question that`s related to this, just what is the "serial mode" supposed to be used for anyway? Is that for powering the scanner from the AC outlet or mabey hooking it up to a PC via a serial port or something? Thanx! N9NRA
 

N9NRA

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
850
Yes, just hit no and let it sit. Serial mode is for remote control and similar uses.
Okay groovy :). Hmmm, mabey Uniden will give us a way to remote the `436HP, that would be kinda cool, oh well...we can dream :). Thanx! N9NRA
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top