BCD536HP discovery mode bug (same as HP1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericcarlson

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
1,489
Location
Houston, Texas
The BCD536HP has the same bug I already reported to Paul in the HP1 with Discovery mode. The search hangs up forever on a P25 control channel with the Avoid button disabled so you can't move past it. This is demonstrated with the 407.8375 MHz P25 control channel in Houston. Discovery mode is useless if it includes the P25 control channel in the search range. I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this issue or if there is some oddity of the control channel in Houston.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,023
Location
Central Ontario
Confirmed on a VHF P25 control channel with an HP-1. Search stops and the Avoid button doesn't work.
 
Last edited:

Jake68111

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
406
Location
Morris, IL. (Grundy County)
Yes, I have experienced this as well with a Motorola Type II SmartZone Omnilink System (Commonwealth Edison/Exelon (Northern IL) on a HomePatrol here in Grundy County, IL. I started a thread about a year ago on this issue with no good result. I was intermittently able to get past the freq by turning my attenuator on but that didn't do the trick 100% of the time.

It is a very aggravating problem.
 

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,464
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
I just noticed this also when I tried out this feature with the 536. This isn't exactly a trivial, or even minor, bug. It basically kills the feature in the radio.
 

NWI_Scanner_Guy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
2,133
Location
Hammond, IN
question

The BCD536HP has the same bug I already reported to Paul in the HP1 with Discovery mode. The search hangs up forever on a P25 control channel with the Avoid button disabled so you can't move past it. This is demonstrated with the 407.8375 MHz P25 control channel in Houston. Discovery mode is useless if it includes the P25 control channel in the search range. I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this issue or if there is some oddity of the control channel in Houston.
As I'm considering adding the extreme features to my HP-1, this is good information to know about.

I'm assuming you have to turn the scanner off and then back on, and then restart the search to "solve" the problem?
 

Dafe1er

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
789
Location
Off in a far away place, far from u.......
and why has this not been fixed all ready for the HP-1??
Because they "moved on" to bigger and better things So, why would they need to do anything for us HP-1 owners?

This has been happening for TWO years with my HP. Every time I do a discovery it does it. Even in conventional mode it will hang on a frequency and NOT let you select avoid.

I have however found that walking around moving the scanner around in the air WITH antenna connected you can get the hung up channel to "Squelch" and quickly select the avoid button while active to avoid it.
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
4,853
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
The BCD536HP has the same bug I already reported to Paul in the HP1 with Discovery mode. The search hangs up forever on a P25 control channel with the Avoid button disabled so you can't move past it. This is demonstrated with the 407.8375 MHz P25 control channel in Houston. Discovery mode is useless if it includes the P25 control channel in the search range. I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this issue or if there is some oddity of the control channel in Houston.
Forgot to ask, I assume you are using the most current FW?
 

tommypierson

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
68
Location
Livermore, Ca
Paul, any input on this? is this at least being worked on? if so, will the hp1 get the fix, or only the new scanners?
Good LUCK!!!! Every time any questions arise that pertain to the HP1 Paul is nowhere to be found.

UPMAn your lack of acknowledgement of a firmware issue that's been reported here in many forums and on yahoo and twitter.

Paul i'm sure you have read this thread???? You have posted on other threads sense this thread was started.

Don't get me wrong, I like my HP1 and Uniden BUT, I really want to pull the trigger on a new 536 and would like to purchase a Extreme Upgrade for my HP1 TODAY but I will not until this gets address.
 

N1SQB

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
2,380
Location
Somewhere On Earth
This is not good! Apparently they not only brought over HP1 features into the new models, but bugs as well. This makes me reluctant to invest in new equipment right now. Even at $499.99 for a 436HP, that is still a huge chuck of change for most folks. I hope Uniden addresses this issue soon.

Manny
 

SquierStrat

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
766
Location
Fremont NE
i agree. id have more respect for the company if they at least acknowledged the problem and admitted they dont have a fix for it yet, instead of outright ignoring the issue.
 

safetyobc

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
3,345
Location
South Arkansas
While I do agree that bugs are annoying I won't go so far to say I won't buy something because it doesn't work 100% perfectly. By that logic, who among you would own any electronic? Computers, iPads, Android tablets, smartphones, etc, etc, etc. Even if this bug exists, I will still buy them. I rarely use the scanners to search a range of frequencies and even more rare is P25 conventional channels in my area. I now some have several and want to find them and can see where this may be an issue. To each his own.
 

N1SQB

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
2,380
Location
Somewhere On Earth
While I do agree that bugs are annoying I won't go so far to say I won't buy something because it doesn't work 100% perfectly. By that logic, who among you would own any electronic? Computers, iPads, Android tablets, smartphones, etc, etc, etc.
The difference is that when I buy these things you mentioned, I don't buy them already knowing there is a problem that the manufacturer is aware of and has yet to address! Imagine if a car dealer says to you " this car is brand new, it has a XXXX problem, the factory has known about it, hasnt addressed it, not sure if they're going to address it, but please, buy the car anyway." This is the problem that exists right now. Without knowing what OTHER new issues will come up once these production units get in the field, they are already starting out with one they do know about and have yet to address. When Uniden decided to come out with models that include features from a previous model, the first thing they should have done is look at the bugs or issues with the current model ( HP1) and make sure they do not transfer over to the new models BEFORE they are fixed. It's just that simple.

Manny
 
Last edited:

tommypierson

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
68
Location
Livermore, Ca
i agree. id have more respect for the company if they at least acknowledged the problem and admitted they dont have a fix for it yet, instead of outright ignoring the issue.

DING DING!!!!!!!!!!! WINNER!!!!!!!!!!!

And Paul is still posting today.......Just not in this thread!!!!! =(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top