BCD536HP is awesome!

Status
Not open for further replies.

safetyobc

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
3,345
Location
South Arkansas
My personal opinion is that the new BCD536HP is one awesome scanner. Reception is excellent! I am using it on P25 multi-site system, 800MHz Motorola system, conventional, airband, etc. It is kicking tail on these 800 systems. Airband monitoring is good too. I'll need more time to get into the nuts and bolts of the radio but so far so good! I highly recommend. Any questions, I'd be glad to answer if I can. I'll do some videos at some point in the future and put them up on my site (linked in my signature as of this posting).

I love that the screen is large. I've been wanting a larger screen on these base/mobile scanners for a long time and Uniden came through. The record/replay feature is one of my favorites by far. And while listening to the recordings or playbacks it shows all the information on screen as if it was scanning (tones, frequencies, etc.).

The alert lights around the VFO knob is really cool and useful.

I like that I can tag the UID on the trunked system and at a glance know what unit is transmitting.

I can't wait for the Siren app to play with the WiFi feature.

I know there are several threads on here complaining about things. But from where I am sitting this is one high tech scanner. I'm not saying it doesn't have a glitch here or there. But nothing so bad that it renders it unusable. It is a very nice radio! Can't wait for the 436 to get here. I recommend this radio for those interested.

Here is a picture of the 536 on top of the BCD996T for your viewing pleasure. (note the pic makes it look like the screen is unevenly lit, but this is not the case. The screen backlight is even.)
 

Attachments

Blind_Shadow

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
131
safetyobc ::

The 536 looks awesome in the picture.. Super shot..

Looking to hear more from you and others as to how it sounds, works, etc; after getting used to how it works.

Thanks for the info and pic's
 

safetyobc

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
3,345
Location
South Arkansas
Audio is clear and can get LOUD. Even when audio is jacked up to the max at 29 it remains clear and distortion free (meaning the internal speaker doesn't distort).
 

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,127
Location
Medford, NJ
Audio is clear and can get LOUD. Even when audio is jacked up to the max at 29 it remains clear and distortion free (meaning the internal speaker doesn't distort).
In analog mode compared to your 996T, how does the audio compare. I'm hoping the Uniden guy listened to all my valid complaints about the lack of audio output power the past generations of scannners have had. I really hope they got it right this time.
 

KI6AOK

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
229
Location
San Diego
Nice! It looks like the 536 is just a bit wider than the 996, correct?
 

johngdoty

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
60
Location
Austin, TX
In analog mode compared to your 996T, how does the audio compare. I'm hoping the Uniden guy listened to all my valid complaints about the lack of audio output power the past generations of scannners have had. I really hope they got it right this time.
I have both the 996T and the 536HP and the audio on the 536 is definitely much better.
 

mondaro

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
1,181
Location
Harrison, New Jersey
My personal opinion is that the new BCD536HP is one awesome scanner. Reception is excellent! I am using it on P25 multi-site system, 800MHz Motorola system, conventional, airband, etc. It is kicking tail on these 800 systems. Airband monitoring is good too. I'll need more time to get into the nuts and bolts of the radio but so far so good! I highly recommend. Any questions, I'd be glad to answer if I can. I'll do some videos at some point in the future and put them up on my site (linked in my signature as of this posting).

I love that the screen is large. I've been wanting a larger screen on these base/mobile scanners for a long time and Uniden came through. The record/replay feature is one of my favorites by far. And while listening to the recordings or playbacks it shows all the information on screen as if it was scanning (tones, frequencies, etc.).

The alert lights around the VFO knob is really cool and useful.

I like that I can tag the UID on the trunked system and at a glance know what unit is transmitting.

I can't wait for the Siren app to play with the WiFi feature.

I know there are several threads on here complaining about things. But from where I am sitting this is one high tech scanner. I'm not saying it doesn't have a glitch here or there. But nothing so bad that it renders it unusable. It is a very nice radio! Can't wait for the 436 to get here. I recommend this radio for those interested.

Here is a picture of the 536 on top of the BCD996T for your viewing pleasure. (note the pic makes it look like the screen is unevenly lit, but this is not the case. The screen backlight is even.)
Question.... Do you know from the software or key pad is there any way to set all my conventional channels to a five second delay at one time or do I have to go into the software and drill down to each agency and set the delay via the software ?

Thanks

Tony
 

wise871

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
3,721
Location
Florida
Question.... Do you know from the software or key pad is there any way to set all my conventional channels to a five second delay at one time or do I have to go into the software and drill down to each agency and set the delay via the software ?

Thanks

Tony
You can drill down or you can copy the first 5 sec and then select all the other channels and then paste. Saves you from having to do each one, one-by-one.
 

mondaro

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
1,181
Location
Harrison, New Jersey
Wise,

Thank you, another quick question, I set up the 536 when I received it on my lap top computer.
Now I am at home and have the software on my PC, I want to continue to program the radio at home.
Do I need to update the software first at home via Upman's thread or just download the current info from the 536 ? Thanks for any help on this.

Tony
 

johngdoty

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
60
Location
Austin, TX
Wise,

Thank you, another quick question, I set up the 536 when I received it on my lap top computer.
Now I am at home and have the software on my PC, I want to continue to program the radio at home.
Do I need to update the software first at home via Upman's thread or just download the current info from the 536 ? Thanks for any help on this.

Tony
I installed the software from the link, made sure it was version 1.02, then downloaded from the scanner to my desktop machine.
 

mrkelso

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
1,440
Location
NNJ
I'm going to have to do something about those white buttons when i get mine.
 

johngdoty

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
60
Location
Austin, TX
Oh they're not too bad and boy are they useful buttons! You can hold on systems, departments, or channels. By the way, love your avatar. "Uh, just one more question"
 

whooey

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
846
Location
Gainesville, FL
I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. I do not need this scanner. :D
 

johngdoty

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
60
Location
Austin, TX
Sure you don't. That's right, just don't look at it. Don't notice it's clean lines and electronic goodness.
Don't caress it's smooth cool buttons. Don't imagine how it would look on your desk. Think about something else. Something like that Visa card in your wallet calling to you.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top