BCD536HP "test run"

Status
Not open for further replies.

ffemt613

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
78
Location
Oak Harbor, WA
Does anyone know if there is a store or some place that has a 536HP on display to try out and mess with? I read all over the forums about places like Ham Radio Outlet, etc. that do that, and I was wondering if anyone knows of a place like that in Washington?
 

Stavro35

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
1,146
Location
Bainbridge Island, WA
If you find one, let me know. It seems Radioshack is moving away from the scanner radio market. I've only found one store in Kitsap county that markets them, and has people that know about them.
 

ffemt613

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
78
Location
Oak Harbor, WA
Stavro35,

Since the post, I went ahead and bought the 536HP. So far, it's been pretty good. A few minor headaches when trying to navigate the menu system on the unit, but nothing some time doesn't fix.
 

Stavro35

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
1,146
Location
Bainbridge Island, WA
Do tell.

Stavro35,

Since the post, I went ahead and bought the 536HP. So far, it's been pretty good. A few minor headaches when trying to navigate the menu system on the unit, but nothing some time doesn't fix.
What did you start hearing out of the box? What scan radius did you set?

Steve
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Does anyone know if there is a store or some place that has a 536HP on display to try out and mess with? I read all over the forums about places like Ham Radio Outlet, etc. that do that, and I was wondering if anyone knows of a place like that in Washington?
Nope. Nearest would be Ham Radio Outlet in Tigard, OR (S Portland)
 

ffemt613

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
78
Location
Oak Harbor, WA
What did you start hearing out of the box? What scan radius did you set?

Steve
I started hearing my local counties channels, along with stuff from surrounding counties, and victoria canada. I had the radius set for pretty much the max.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top