• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Bcd996t

Status
Not open for further replies.

Go-24

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
495
Location
Indiana
What software are you using to transfer data to your scanner?

Butel doesnt seem to have a program yet ... and my 996 was on my doorstep when I got home tonight.
 

Go-24

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
495
Location
Indiana
Is that the only option at this time? Guess this thing will collect dust until Butel delivers. hmph!
 
Last edited:

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
Uniden is free - so instead of using software you may not like as much as Butel's (but is available today and costs MUCH MUCH less) you're going to let the radio sit? Interesting philosophy ;>
 

Go-24

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
495
Location
Indiana
Well I have never used the uniden software, used butel since day 1 with every scanner I have (just got into scanning couple months ago.)

I downloaded the uniden software, but havent a clue as to where to begin. Maybe it takes more knowledge of scanners than the easy as click 1-2-3 the Butel experience offers.

I have toyed with it for the last hour and still the 996 says "nothing to scan" - had both my 246 and the 396 up and scanning what I wanted in minutes. Im a plug and play person, screw the damn manuals it shouldnt be that difficult.

Maybe after this migraine goes away I can think clearer :)

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
edit - I have it up and scanning - maybe it wasnt that difficult after all. I still like butel though :) nana - nana - nana
 
Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
6,193
Location
Dallas, TX
You can always start by copying your 396 system files over into BCD996T_UASD. They won't have all the GPS coordinates (and some of the other things unique to the 996), but it would give you a jump start. Then make up a configuration & load it to the scanner.
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
Enter your system info, add that to the config, and then write to scanner. Make sure you enter your keycode too in the write section...
 

Go-24

Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
495
Location
Indiana
I took a deep breath and actually figured it out pretty quickly. Now to play and tweak ;)
 

RISC777

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
935
Do some manual programming, that's always good for you. You'll learn the scanner better that way too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top