BCD996XT vs. HP1

Status
Not open for further replies.

taito2000

Premium Subscriber
I'm fairly new to scanning and I can't decide between those two. I'm leaning towards the BCD996XT because I've found better prices, but I like the easier setup of the HP1. Basically, what should factor in more: price, or which is easier to use?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

D

DaveNF2G

See the thread, "Choosing between Unidens." I started it yesterday and there have been several comments already.

kbehning

Premium Subscriber
The XT series scanners have a pretty big learning curve and if you plan to use them on several systems, you should really get software to help.

Really, only you can decide where you fall upon this spectrum: ease of use (especially if traveling to many locations that you don't want to take the time to manually figure out and program in, as opposed to wanting access to lots of detailed control features with a clearly higher operator workload (both setup and during use [quick key assignments and menu functions etc]).

Usually the people who want full control know who they are. People who bring up ease of use, generally should go with the simpler scanners. Simpler in this case lining up with the home patrol.

rwier

.......... Simpler in this case lining up with the home patrol.

The HP wears many helmets/masks, lol. I personally have used the HP-1, with the payed BIG "E", to perform analysis involving many other brands/models of scanners, antennas, and other accessories, all at the same time. This can, if used in an very controlled "open mind" environment, result in old scanners, that were previously thought to be inferior, tweeked to come up to speed. I have written many words on this subject in previous posts. Too many words to type again. A search of the archives will show my views on the subject.