BCT 15X Firmware 1.06.03

slingshot202

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
504
Location
New Jersey
Thanks! I had not seen it on his site but I was there. Nothing major I think, but I always keep the FW up to date (or so I thought)
 

Ronaldski

MI DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
2,438
Location
Bay City MI
doctordialtone's link is for the 15, not 15X !

As Imontor mentioned the 15 vs. 15X. Your scanner may not boot up if wrong firmware! Be sure to select the 15X in BC_VUP3!


Yes do use the BC_VUP3 program that the link in the wiki you gave in message #1 for the 15X gives-

I made a change to that wiki (anyone can edit wiki's), I put in a third superscript saying the link will show 1.03, but if you use the BC_VUP3 program you can get 1.06.03. I also updated the firmware version number that is available.

Regrettably Paul Optiz(UPMAN) who ran that page passed away and it hasnt been updated since 9-3-2015.

Did forums searches on what it changes, nothing I can find. The link for the 15 that doctordialtone gave has changes that might be similar to what was changed in the 15X, possibly?
 
Last edited:

pro92b

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
1,720
The wiki incorrectly lists BCT15X firmware as 1.06.03 but the BC VUP 3.03.00 program will install 1.05.03 as the latest firmware for the BCT15X. Uniden has not published what firmware 1.05.03 improves over the prior release. The BC VUP program will detect the scanner model and should not attempt to install BCT15 firmware on a BCT15X. Below is a list of what firmware BC VUP 3.03.00 can install.

Uniden Firmware Updater
BC VUP 3.03

BC125AT 1.01.05 1.02.05 1.03.01
BC246T 2.60
BC346XT 1.05.00
BCD325P2 1.03.01 1.06.00 1.07.09 1.08.00 1.08.01
BCD396XT 1.10.00 1.11.01
BCD996P2 1.04.03 1.05.02 1.06.00 1.07.09 1.08.00 1.08.01
BCD996XT 1.06.00 1.07.03
BCT15 1.06.00
BCT15X 1.03.00 1.05.03
 

Ronaldski

MI DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
2,438
Location
Bay City MI
Screenshot of my BC_VUP3 updater 3.03 revision 00, with the indeed firmware 1.06.03 is available.
1603995575376.png
 
Last edited:

pro92b

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
1,720
You are correct, it is 1.06.03. I don't know how I missed that but at least now my BCT15X really is at the latest level.
 

bobruzzo

W1AV
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
826
Location
Cranston, Rhode Island
This is confusing. I checked my BCT15X firmware and it is version 1.05.03
So there is ANOTHER updated firmware? So you would need to download " BC_VUP3 updater 3.03 revision 00" and it will update the 15X to ver. 1.06.03? So where would I get the " BC_VUP3 updater 3.03 revision 00" file from? Looking at the links above I can't find it, just older versions.
 

pro92b

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
1,720
The BC_VUP3 is at the link in post 5 above. I'll repeat it here.
When you get to the website the file is under the heading "Installation Steps".
Unzip the file and run setup.exe to install the program.
Once it is installed, run the program and select BCT15X as the model. Then click on the arrow in the Version box to see three versions that are available, including 1.06.03. Click on Next and follow instructions as displayed.
 

626hawkeye

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
40
Location
Sedalia, MO
There is a update for the BCT15X I just updated it 1.06.03. It booted just fine. Not sure what it did but there It's an update.
 

bobruzzo

W1AV
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
826
Location
Cranston, Rhode Island
The BC_VUP3 is at the link in post 5 above. I'll repeat it here.
When you get to the website the file is under the heading "Installation Steps".
Unzip the file and run setup.exe to install the program.
Once it is installed, run the program and select BCT15X as the model. Then click on the arrow in the Version box to see three versions that are available, including 1.06.03. Click on Next and follow instructions as displayed.
Sorry for sounding like a dummy but there are some confusing variables....there are 2 files, "setup" and "Setup_BC_VUP"
When I click on "Setup" this pop up screen comes up and my only choices are REMOVE or REPAIR. I get the SAME pop up running the other file (Setup_BC_VUP) so what do I do here?
 

Attachments

sallen07

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
492
Location
Rochester, NY
Sorry for sounding like a dummy but there are some confusing variables....there are 2 files, "setup" and "Setup_BC_VUP"
When I click on "Setup" this pop up screen comes up and my only choices are REMOVE or REPAIR. I get the SAME pop up running the other file (Setup_BC_VUP) so what do I do here?
You are trying to re-install the program, not run it. :)

Go to your "Start" menu. If you just installed BC_VUP3 it should be at the very top under "Recently Added". If not, then scroll down until you find "Uniden" and under there you will see BC_VUP3. Click on that icon to run the program.
 

bobruzzo

W1AV
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
826
Location
Cranston, Rhode Island
You are trying to re-install the program, not run it. :)

Go to your "Start" menu. If you just installed BC_VUP3 it should be at the very top under "Recently Added". If not, then scroll down until you find "Uniden" and under there you will see BC_VUP3. Click on that icon to run the program.
When I bought this scanner earlier this year it was already updated with the current (at that time) firmware version of 1.05.03 so I am not sure what to do...nothing in start menu and nothing recently added. So this file I downloaded from the link above is not what I need? Sorry but this all sounds confusing. These are the two files that I unzipped according to instructions above.....but when I click on either of them a pop up comes and my only options are remove or repair which I dont need to do! There is no option to install or re-install anything!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Ronaldski

MI DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
2,438
Location
Bay City MI
Bob thats a normal popup on installs for really any programs that you had already installed previously. Essentially you already had installed it.
I would just select remove, let it do its thing, then go ahead and install it again, then the Uniden would show up in the start menu.
 

bobruzzo

W1AV
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
826
Location
Cranston, Rhode Island
Bob thats a normal popup on installs for really any programs that you had already installed previously. Essentially you already had installed it.
I would just select remove, let it do its thing, then go ahead and install it again, then the Uniden would show up in the start menu.
OK MY mistake....I looked deeper in start menu and found a UNIDEN folder with the VUP and VUP3 programs so I ran the VUP3 and it installed new version no problem. So this upgrade and VUP3 file must have been from a recent BCD996T firmware up date I did about a week ago for a friend of mine who picked up a used BCD996T scanner with outdated firmware. Apparently this new update is being included in recent firmware revisions for these radios. I guess. Thanks for the help, now it would be nice to know what this update actually does!
 
Top